Options

Background and hair lights

2»

Comments

• Options
    divamumdivamum Registered Users Posts: 9,021 Major grins
    edited September 16, 2010
    Thanks Nik! Even before I saw your post I was (slowly) marching to this conclusion - in this space and this context it's not about quantity of light, or even (exclusively) quality of light, but just trying to keep it where I want it and ONLY where I want it. It's amazing how much I've mentally processed about this just by taking frames of each light in succession on its own, and then one of the total effect. I'm not sure why I've never done that before (another big "duh").

My home-made, soda-carton softbox is really coming into its own on this - it cuts output and is a little easier to set than the snoot or grid, but it keeps the light from going everywhere (it's about 11" on the long side, so not too big). Today I experimented with hanging that on the boom arm from directly above, and also setting it as a typical rim light from below/behind subject and it works a treat. This is finally starting to make sense to me. Of course, now that I AM getting the hang of this, I sure wish I had a couple more lights!

One thing I haven't tried yet (and should have today, but ran out of time) is to switch to using the 7d's transmitter and adding a tickle of fill from the internal flash; that means I can move the two speedlights further around to the sides/back for effects without losing all the light at the front. I'll save that for next time.