Options

Unhappy Engagement Session

KazersKazers Registered Users Posts: 14 Big grins
edited January 23, 2012 in Weddings
Hello,

I am an amateur photographer, and I recently did an engagement shoot for a friend of a friend. If they were happy with them they would then choose me to photograph their wedding next year. The pictures I took I was so happy with, and I felt like it showcased my style and eye for photography. After editing, and sending the disc of pictures to the couple she called me a few days later explaining to me that a handful of them were blurred, but she liked my style. So naturally I went back and looked at the pictures and I did include 2 photos that were slightly out of focus that I should not have included in their disc, but the rest were beautiful. I then looked at a couple more of the pictures, and noticed there was sun flare in 2 of them, but that was on purpose for a dreamy sort of effect, and perhaps she mistook them as blurred? They then decided if this was going to be the case that they were blurred she didn't want to use me for her wedding next year. I am a bit taken back by this, because I thought my photos were great. They were a laid back couple, they had no outfit changes, it was in a state park areaand brought their dog to the shoot, so we actually had a lot of fun taking them. I am not sure how to take this critique from her. I understand that I shouldn't have included the blurred images, but she had 55 others to chose from. Should I be discouraged? How do you avoid the details that were on purpose to create an effect that isn't understood by someone who isn't a photographer??

Thank you,
Kazers

Comments

• Options
    Moogle PepperMoogle Pepper Registered Users Posts: 2,950 Major grins
    edited October 21, 2011
    Pictures or it didn't happen. mwink.gif