Noobs with fancy gear

ecphotomanecphotoman Registered Users Posts: 109 Major grins
edited March 21, 2012 in Technique
What does everyone think of people whom buy a fancy expensive DSLR and start calling themselves photographers. I'm not saying people can't start somewhere.

One of my wife's friends had her husband buy her a $2000 DSLR for Christmas. This lady has no photographic background whatsoever, and shoots in auto or in portrait mode. She keeps taking pictures of pregnant women belly's and kids. She has no idea how to shoot manual and calls her self a photographer every opportunity.

I'm no pro by any means. I have however been shooting for almost 4 years and still hesitate to call my self a photographer. I strive to learn everything I can about the craft and still consider my self a noob.

I'm just wondering what you guys think of people like this

Comments

• NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited March 8, 2012
    Saw this on FB the other day ;-)
    EIOPO.jpg
    "May the f/stop be with you!"
    edited March 8, 2012
    ecphotoman wrote: »
    One of my wife's friends had her husband buy her a $2000 DSLR for Christmas. This lady has no photographic background whatsoever, and shoots in auto or in portrait mode. She keeps taking pictures of pregnant women belly's and kids. She has no idea how to shoot manual and calls her self a photographer every opportunity.
    As they say, "P stands for professional" mwink.gif

OTOH, why do you care? If she's making her customers happy, it's more than enough. Running a successsful photography business doesn't mean you have be a photography expert, it means you have to be a business expert. Trade skills mean way less than business skills almost in every business (business, not trade!).