Options

1D Mk II owners please help me decide

jeff lapointjeff lapoint Registered Users Posts: 1,228 Major grins
edited November 16, 2005 in Cameras
Some advice needed!

I'm a 20D user that shoots mostly wildlife (90% of the time) and have saved up enough to grab a used 1D MK II. Thinking of the pro body for the speed (both in FPS and AF) and the durability/weather sealing.

How much faster is the AF vs the 20D? If you made this jump and shoot action often, did your number of "keepers" rise significantly?

I also realize that I am no professional by any means and that the 20D is still alot of camera (and that 1.6x gives me more reach). Sometimes though I do feel it is holding me back for flight shots. Especially with the raptors...

And yes, I am fully aware of some of the images produced of raptors with the 20D/10D/XT/300d by users of this forum and others. The fact that Gene (hawkman) is using a 10D makes me hesitate and consider option 2...

Option 2: Invest in glass

Investing in glass seems to be the sounder investment, but it will not help me shoot wildlife with the money I have. I currently shoot with the 400 5.6 L, so unless I can find a used 500 4.5 L for about $3000 I'll only be broadening the types of things I'd be shooting (not a bad thing). My current kit includes:18-55 cat toy, 20 2.8, thrifty fifty, 200 2.8, and my 400 + TC. I'd like a nice wide angle for landscapes, an extreme macro, or a sweet IS zoom for when the light gets sparce down the road, but the image of the mark II lingers in my head!ne_nau.gif

Thoughts? Advice? Thanks so much for the help guys!

-j

Comments

• Options
    mercphotomercphoto Registered Users Posts: 4,550 Major grins
    edited November 9, 2005
    I'm a 20D user that shoots mostly wildlife (90% of the time) and have saved up enough to grab a used 1D MK II. Thinking of the pro body for the speed (both in FPS and AF) and the durability/weather sealing.