T4i vs. 60D which one for next camera

jenniferannjenniferann Registered Users Posts: 64 Big grins
edited December 7, 2012 in Cameras
I am ready to move up to my next camera, I have been using the XTi for 4 years now and have been pretty happy with it. I really want something that handles low light photography better, that was the one thing I did not care for in the XTi, I could not push the ISO up without get in a lot of noise.
I have narrowed my search to the 60D and the T4i, I am wondering what you all think would be the best upgrade for me?
I am a second shooter at weddings, do landscape and macro photography too.
I do not want to spend more than $1000 - $1500 max.
I look forward to hearing your thoughts, thanks.

Comments

• jenniferannjenniferann Registered Users Posts: 64 Big grins
    edited November 23, 2012
    Anyone? I really would like some input.
    Also, what happened to the "reviews" Section, where you could read tons of reviews on cameras, lenses, etc? It has been a while since I was on the site and it looks so different.
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 24,067 moderator
    edited November 23, 2012
    Lots of folks are busy on Thanksgiving with family stuff.

I recommend looking at the Canon 7D. It's within your price range (currently $1400USD, after instant savings) and available at both Adorama and B&H.

Compared to the Canon 60D it has the following major benefits for wedding photography:
    A more advanced, and potentially better, autofocus section. This can mean more "keepers", as it reduces OOF shots. Nothing kills a shot faster than lack of accurate focus. Also 19 cross-type AF points, vs 9 on the 60D.

A 100% viewfinder, vs 96% viewfinder. With the 7D you don't guess the coverage and then chiimp to see if you got what you thought you were shooting.