LR4>LR5 - worth it?

divamumdivamum Major grinsPosts: 9,021Registered Users Major grins
edited January 16, 2014 in Digital Darkroom
I get it for the educator price.

Just wondering if there are enough updates to make it worth the $80 before they make it cloud only! (on the assumption that they eventually will)

Comments

  • IcebearIcebear Major grins Posts: 4,015Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 12, 2013
    Yes.
    John :
    Natural selection is responsible for every living thing that exists.
    D3s, D500, D5300, and way more glass than the wife knows about.
  • IcebearIcebear Major grins Posts: 4,015Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 12, 2013
    OK, maybe that was a little terse.
    Here's a great overview.
    I really like the radial tool, non-circular healing, perspective correction, many many "real" improvements.
    John :
    Natural selection is responsible for every living thing that exists.
    D3s, D500, D5300, and way more glass than the wife knows about.
  • aj986saj986s Major grins Posts: 1,104Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 12, 2013
    I'm not 100% sure if it may have also existed in LR4, but the Visualize Spots function, which I learned about in LR5, is such a time saver!!
    Tony P.
    Canon 50D, 30D and Digital Rebel (plus some old friends - FTB and AE1)
    Long-time amateur.....wishing for more time to play
    Autocross and Track junkie
    tonyp.smugmug.com
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkPosts: 50,154Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 12, 2013
    divamum wrote: »
    I get it for the educator price.

    Just wondering if there are enough updates to make it worth the $80 before they make it cloud only! (on the assumption that they eventually will)

    ZOMG yes. Esp for $80
  • divamumdivamum Major grins Posts: 9,021Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 12, 2013
    Ha - well that's pretty unanimous! I guess I'll have to pony up thumb.gif
  • divamumdivamum Major grins Posts: 9,021Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 12, 2013
    Actually, it's even cheaper via Adorama and B&H - $72. ne_nau.gif
  • divamumdivamum Major grins Posts: 9,021Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 12, 2013
    NOW I just need to figure out how you confirm educator status when you don't buy it direct from Adobe - does anybody know if you deal with that via the vendor, or on installation/registration? It's not a problem, I'm just wondering how to do it; int he past I've bought through the Adobe site, and just used my college email address to confirm status.
  • IcebearIcebear Major grins Posts: 4,015Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 12, 2013
    Jus' spel rite and use gud grammer.
    John :
    Natural selection is responsible for every living thing that exists.
    D3s, D500, D5300, and way more glass than the wife knows about.
  • divamumdivamum Major grins Posts: 9,021Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 12, 2013
    No, that just confirms me as over 40 ~ducks and runs~ :D
  • aj986saj986s Major grins Posts: 1,104Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 13, 2013
    divamum wrote: »
    I get it for the educator price.

    Just wondering if there are enough updates to make it worth the $80 before they make it cloud only! (on the assumption that they eventually will)
    divamum wrote: »
    NOW I just need to figure out how you confirm educator status when you don't buy it direct from Adobe - does anybody know if you deal with that via the vendor, or on installation/registration? It's not a problem, I'm just wondering how to do it; int he past I've bought through the Adobe site, and just used my college email address to confirm status.

    FWIW, I believe the "Education" version of software packages is intended for class taking purposes. I believe the "license" prohibits its use for commercial (for profit) purposes. I know that many ignore it, but if someone is moving deeply into a commercial enterprise with their photography, they may want to think about the potential consequences as their work/client base grows. As the business grows, the software cost becomes a smaller percentage of revenue, so why worth the risk.
    Tony P.
    Canon 50D, 30D and Digital Rebel (plus some old friends - FTB and AE1)
    Long-time amateur.....wishing for more time to play
    Autocross and Track junkie
    tonyp.smugmug.com
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkPosts: 50,154Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 13, 2013
    divamum wrote: »
    Actually, it's even cheaper via Adorama and B&H - $72. ne_nau.gif

    Just buy it!
  • divamumdivamum Major grins Posts: 9,021Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 13, 2013
    aj986s wrote: »
    FWIW, I believe the "Education" version of software packages is intended for class taking purposes. I believe the "license" prohibits its use for commercial (for profit) purposes. I know that many ignore it, but if someone is moving deeply into a commercial enterprise with their photography, they may want to think about the potential consequences as their work/client base grows. As the business grows, the software cost becomes a smaller percentage of revenue, so why worth the risk.

    I scoured the Adobe site before I bought my first product with the discount (for just the reasons you cite) and nowhere does it say that in the small print; there is no a spelled-out usage proviso. From the Adobe website:

    Can I use Student and Teacher Edition products commercially?

    Yes, Student and Teacher Edition products can be used commercially on your privately owned computer. They may not be resold.
  • aj986saj986s Major grins Posts: 1,104Registered Users Major grins
    edited December 13, 2013
    divamum wrote: »
    I scoured the Adobe site before I bought my first product with the discount (for just the reasons you cite) and nowhere does it say that in the small print; there is no a spelled-out usage proviso. From the Adobe website:

    Can I use Student and Teacher Edition products commercially?

    Yes, Student and Teacher Edition products can be used commercially on your privately owned computer. They may not be resold.

    Wow. That's interesting. Maybe the times have changed. I had bought some Adobe software (Photoshop, Pagemaker, and maybe something other....) for some college classes I was taking some time ago. I recall the boxes having statements about prohibiting commercial use. I personally haven't bought "Education" versions in a long while.

    Thanks!
    Tony P.
    Canon 50D, 30D and Digital Rebel (plus some old friends - FTB and AE1)
    Long-time amateur.....wishing for more time to play
    Autocross and Track junkie
    tonyp.smugmug.com
  • divamumdivamum Major grins Posts: 9,021Registered Users Major grins
    edited January 10, 2014
    Worth it for the radial filter alone. It's like having an off-camera flash ... in Lightroom!! (and no, of course that doesn't make up for getting it right in camera, using the light blah blah blah, but it's bloody helpful when the shooting situation precluded good lighting in situ!)
  • EiaEia Major grins Posts: 3,625Registered Users Major grins
    edited January 14, 2014
    The specs say windows 7 - 8. I wonder if it would work on Vista?
  • tebogantebogan Big grins Posts: 38Registered Users Big grins
    edited January 15, 2014
    Eia wrote: »
    the specs say windows 7 - 8. I wonder if it would work on vista?

    nope
    Photography is the art of making an image of what you see so others can see what you saw.
  • divamumdivamum Major grins Posts: 9,021Registered Users Major grins
    edited January 15, 2014
    Eia, given what resource hogs Adobe products are, I would be skeptical about it running on an unsupported machine....
  • EaracheEarache Unsharp and Oversaturated SO CALPosts: 3,533Registered Users Major grins
    edited January 16, 2014
    Eia wrote: »
    The specs say windows 7 - 8. I wonder if it would work on Vista?

    AnnaMaria, Vista?? Really??
    I suppose you take the stagecoach to town also... (ducking and running with Diva :D)
    Eric ~ Smugmug
  • EiaEia Major grins Posts: 3,625Registered Users Major grins
    edited January 16, 2014
    Earache wrote: »
    AnnaMaria, Vista?? Really??
    I suppose you take the stagecoach to town also... (ducking and running with Diva :D)

    Hahaha...yep, embarrassingly true. Been putting it off for awhile, weddings, medical issues and all but spring is target time for new system. Actually, this was built for me and I have not had problems but now am running into the lack of support. If it was up to my husband we would have a horse and buggy :D
Sign In or Register to comment.