5D Mark IV......or no?

JeffroJeffro I'd rather be shooting...Registered Users Posts: 1,915 Major grins

So, I've been shooting with my 7D for many, many years. It's been through a lot. I've been kicking around buying a new camera for a couple of years now. I miss not having a real wide angle, which I haven't had since shooting film actually. So going with a 5D Mark IV kind of appeals to me.

With there being an obvious push to go mirrorless these days, I wonder if it's wise to buy a 4 year old DSLR design. I'm sure the 5D Mark IV would be head and shoulders above my 7D with image quality. I'd still have the 7D, so that's not part of the problem anyway.

I guess the issue I'm having is, should I click the "buy" button, I mean the 5D, grip and a second battery are sitting in my cart!

Should I do it? Would I regret not going mirrorless? Would Canon release a newer 5D a week later? Tune in next week to see what happens. Same bat time. Same bat channel. Or later tonight.....lol.

Always lurking, sometimes participating. :D

Comments

• ziggy53ziggy53 Still learnin'still lovin Super Moderators Posts: 22,038 moderator

I am fully retired now, but I loved the EOS 5D Mark IV so much that I bought a second body. The first stays in a smaller kit with a standard/normal, f2.8 zoom, a 70-200mm, f4L, IS USM telezoom, and a punchy flash and flash modifier (DIY scoop).

I can do around 90% of my needs with that kit, which is mostly family and church events.

The second body is in a larger kit with an older standard/normal zoom, for both backup and occasional second shooter use, a 17-40mm, f4L for wide-angle zoom, a 135mm, f2 prime, 50mm, f1.4 prime, 90mm, f2.8 macro, and 1 or 2 more flashes, depending on intentions. I sometimes add a 400mm, f5.6L for local running events.

Remember that the 5D Mark IV also has a Live View mode, with the extremely competent Dual-Pixel AF, for the "mirrorless" experience.