Options

How would you respond to this?

Lord VetinariLord Vetinari Registered Users Posts: 15,900 Major grins
edited September 11, 2006 in Mind Your Own Business
Just got this email and wondered how would others react?
I should add I am an amateur/hobbyist photographer but have earned some money from my pics already.

"Dear sir,

I have been asked by an US publisher to write a book on macro photography, an offer which I have accepted. You have been a source of inspiration for me for a long time, and I was wondering if you would be interested in supplying some of the photos for the book.

I am afraid that there is a very limited budget available, but we would obviously be able to offer you photo credit. In addition - if you would like to supply a few photos - I wouldn't mind adding a photographer's profile to the book.

Is this something you could be interested in?"

Brian V.

Comments

• Options
    KhaosKhaos Registered Users Posts: 2,435 Major grins
    edited August 21, 2006
    If you were a source of inspiration, why wouldn't he address the email directly to you rather than "Sir?"

I wouldn't be interested. If you are just looking for exposure, how much do you think you'll get with a book on photography that doesn't have a decent budget for photograph licensing?ne_nau.gif
  • Options
    askme2flashuaskme2flashu Registered Users Posts: 33 Big grins
    edited August 21, 2006
    I delete all SPAM. No questions asked. Hate SPAM. naughty.gif
    Chance favors the prepared mind.
    Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 LD
    Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 D
    Vivitar Series 1 60mm f/2.5 Macro
    Kenko Extension Tube Set DG
  • Options
    gusgus Registered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited August 21, 2006
    Me ? I would tell 'em to get lost quick...well..maybe i would use a diff term but this is a public forum.

The hide of people to ask for your work for free (photo credit) & then proceed to make money from the book.
  • Options