This competition vs original ideas and such

intentional_noiseintentional_noise Registered Users Posts: 24 Big grins
edited May 1, 2007 in The Dgrin Challenges
Hi - complete newb and I expect to be slaughtered when I wake up in the morning, so that's ok - but part of me just had to type this.

In real life competition, with the big bucks, and yes I do know as I have submitted to them before, you don't have a clue what anyone else is submitting above and beyond your own imagination. Sure, on opening night, your ego could be annoyed at the judges that a similar entry made it through and yours did not - but you get over it and move onto the next challenge.

I love watching this competition unfold and am disappointed that I missed the first few, only finding it on the last day of LPS 2, but you know, watching it every day from afar as I have - I felt for people as this is becoming like a 'forum' competition and not a true competition.

Yes, ideas are always the same and yes, ten people will have the same flash bulb inspiration but it isn't before you in real life and should it be?

I had one idea for this comp and someone else did it better - I am thankful that they did as their version of my 'perhaps beeswax candles - elecrtrical something' was interpretted in a sensational way.

Sure - the other person that had the same idea should have every freedom to explore their creativity - this is not a slam - just a division between the fact that in a real life competition - you never see your competition so suffer no influence nor ill will

I have no emotional input into this at all but I DID feel for others this week

2 bobs worth - slam me away - I expect it

Comments

• DoctorItDoctorIt Administrators Posts: 11,951 moderator
    edited April 26, 2007
    ...I felt for people as this is becoming like a 'forum' competition and not a true competition.
    Not quite sure I follow you. headscratch.gif