Took the DSLR plunge today

PattiPatti Registered Users Posts: 1,576 Major grins
edited July 12, 2007 in Cameras
A REAL newbie here...
Well, after much debate, gnashing of teeth, finger nails etc, I took the plunge today and bought a DSLR. I am such a novice photographer it's ludicrous to do but there you have it.
I've loved the zoom on my Olympus but find the photos more grainy than I'd like in concert situations (my joie de vive and what got me started with all this). I recently photographed the Police concerts in Vancouver but had to up the ISO to 1600 despite the image stabilizer feature on my SP550UZ. Most were pretty noisy but a few came out clear.
So, after thinking and rethinking, playing with different cameras, I settled on the Nikon D40X with 10.2 megapixels and took the Nikkor 18-135mm zoom rather than the 2 lenses option. I've sacrificed some zoom for the convenience of not having to switch lenses for wide angle shots. I also got the 50mm f/1.8D lense which was recommended for my hobby of photographing rock concerts (really clear bright portrait lense it seems). The Nikon felt really good in my hand and more or less had the features I wanted within my price range. It doesn't have image stabilizer but it should be less noisy and hopefully clearer at the higher ISO settings than my Olympus.

I'd be interested to hear from any other D40X users or anyone with comments about this model. Also interested in suggestions re managing the challenge of photographing at concerts - assuming one gets the camera by security. :wink

Thanks for your patience with a newbie.
The use of a camera is similar to that of a knife. You can use it to peel potatoes, or carve a flute. ~ E. Kahlmeyer
... I'm still peeling potatoes.

patti hinton photography

Comments

• richmoffittrichmoffitt Registered Users Posts: 27 Big grins
    edited July 1, 2007
    Wait, you were able to get a 50mm F/1.8 for the D40X? I thought that camera would only accept AF-S lenses...