An Exercise in Frustration

eoren1eoren1 Registered Users Posts: 2,391 Major grins
edited July 12, 2007 in The Dgrin Challenges
Thought I would post a small rant/rave after my posting an entry to LPS8 and before losing (again).

I've only been 'into' photography for a few years and have been enjoying the process of trying to become a better photographer. That is, until the LPS contest started.

Shay lured me in with offers of free stuff and so I began entering...and losing...each and every time. At first the losses weren't too bad. Then my photos got better and even the judges liked them. But I kept losing.

However, a funny thing happened as I started shooting with a theme in mind. I saw the world a bit differently and took photos I never would have otherwise. My favorite photograph of Boston and one which I intend to hang in our new home came out of the irregular/picturesque contest:
144106457-S.jpg

Another one of my son that I was 'forced' to take as a silhouette became an instant favorite as well:
151491050-S.jpg

I almost called it quits after LPS7 when another photo of my son didn't make it. I knew I shouldn't have entered it as it would hit to-close-to-home if I lost and I would take it more personally. It was especially hard to take as I made most of the 'fan favorites' lists for this one.
165590084-S.jpg

On the 4th, I went out to shoot fireworks in DC having moved here just 4 days ago for work. I set up with everyone else at the Carillon Bells and got a standard shot.
169978085-S.jpg
Granted, it's as good of a firework shot as I've taken in the two times that I've had opportunity to shoot the 4th of July. Then the darn contest theme hit me and I thought...alright, just one more try! I ran over to the Iwo Jima memorial and managed 4 snaps before the show ended. I did get my LPS8 entry and another favorite shot:
169979903-S.jpg