Options

Let there be light!

13»

Comments

• Options
    Art ScottArt Scott Registered Users Posts: 8,959 Major grins
    edited September 11, 2007
    ShepsMom wrote:
    So if i have flash, all i will need is one strobe umbrella and soft box?
    I probably need to stop asking stupid questions.....

:dgrin

Which Flash unit do you have....so we all know what we are talking about to help you the most.

Just my .000001cent woth here.......if your camera is wireless capable and your flash is compatable with the wioreless mode of the camera then your are set (for the most part) .... I have been using both studio strobes and sunpak 622 for over 20 yrs....for me it was a no brainer to go strobes...I shot weddings and took my studio strobes with me...then one day I ....I repeat I..........tripped over an orange extension cable that was powering my studio strobes and one came crashing down.....had that been a hot light it would have burned something while on the floor...if it had been cool flourescent lights they would have burst into a million small dnagerous pieces......now I have had a terrible accident that no one was hurt during ...no one but my ego and pride....so I start hunting for battery powered units...enter the sunpak family of large strobes.....similar to studio strobes in the fact thaey are manually operated should be metered with a flash meter are extremely portable and I found battery packs used for under $50.00 foreach strobe ...... sunpak as well as other companies make slave triggers to use with them and also there are radio triggers that can work with them ( i use slave triggers)....no wires to trip over...battery packs can sit under the light stand legs or hand off the stand by way of a el cheapo camera strap........

Very quicky you will want to have no less than 3 lights ( I prefer 4, especially since I use 2 for directly coloring my background ) and the 4th is for hair lighting or as a fill front light.......