A contest for compacts / point-&-shoots only

kejagokejago Registered Users Posts: 63 Big grins
edited February 9, 2008 in The Dgrin Challenges
I am in awe of the pictures that get submitted for the contests here. They are increadible. :bow I use a point-&-shoot camera, and the lense quality, and lense angle just cannot compete with a DSLR, or be in the same league as the "big boys".

I am just a beginner, but would love to try a competition, or a themed shoot just for compacts. What do you guys think? Can a mini-competition like this be organized? Will it level the playing field a bit, if it was restricted to the little cameras?

What say the folks?

Comments

• DoctorItDoctorIt Administrators Posts: 11,951 moderator
    edited January 20, 2008
    It's an idea that has been brought up before. At the moment, we're in the heat of LPS so time and manpower are at a minimun.

We always said that in the future we'd like to have smaller side competitions and we do discuss it from time to time. So don't worry, your ideas do not fall on deaf ears. Just sometimes those ears are a bit overworked.

I will say this, not all the photos in the LPS gallery were shot with top of the line DSLR's... many of the point and shoots these days have every bit as good optics and sensors. It's a cliche, but it really is "how you use it".
    thumb.gif
    Erik
    moderator of: The Flea Market [ guidelines ]

• TangoTango Registered Users Posts: 4,592 Major grins
    edited January 21, 2008
    givin your location, you can pull off some dramatic shots with a P&S ( you have a G9, WOW !!!!)
    use a tripod, use your hidden menus, and get to it.
    i would love to shoot the alps even with a disposable (ok maybe not:D )
    but still, your location....is awesome
    Aaron Nelson
  • NikolaiNikolai Registered Users Posts: 19,035 Major grins
    edited January 21, 2008
    givin your location, you can pull off some dramatic shots with a P&S ( you have a G9, WOW !!!!)