My domain not staying logged in. Cant access my account?

PezpixPezpix Mmmm cookies!Laguna Beach, CARegistered Users Posts: 391 Major grins
edited June 9, 2008 in SmugMug Support
EDIT Feb 19 315pm ET: Fixed and live :thumb

EDIT BY ANDY Feb 13th 1pm ET: This is a SmugMug issue, we're working on it. For now, access your account via http://yournickname.smugmug.com and you'll be fine. Most folks are having no issues in IE, it seems to be Firefox related.

Our sorcerers are working to fix it. Thanks for your patience!



Hey guys and gals, I'm not sure why, but for some reason, when I try to log in to my usual smugmug account via my personal domain ( www.pezpix.com ) it logs me in as always, but then when I go to my galleries, it only loads the 'guest' access.

For some reason, it wont show my options as owner, and the only way I can access my own site's setting is via the alternate address issued by smugmug
http://pezman.smugmug.com/
Can someone give me a bit of help on this? I'm not sure what step to take to proceed from here and my understanding of CSS is still pretty n00b

I'll make an extra special cookie for the first 3 helpers (Andy gets 10% cookie kickback though) :deal
Professional Ancient Smugmug Shutter Geek
Master Of Sushi Noms
Amateur CSS Dork
«13

Comments

  • ivarivar I'd be happy with a cookie Registered Users Posts: 8,395 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    Hi Pez wave.gif

    Your custom domain is not to be used logging in/out, I'm sorry. See also: http://www.smugmug.com/help/acctlogin
  • PezpixPezpix Mmmm cookies! Laguna Beach, CARegistered Users Posts: 391 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    Ivar, thats still not it. The log-in still wont let me access my account for some reason even after I sign in. This has never been an issue until today so I'm a bit baffled as to why it wont let me do it.

    The main thing I'm concerned with, is that I cannot upload my photos unless I access the account via the pezman.smugmug acct sign in. I'm not sure why this only just started in the past 24 hours or so. Could it be a scripting or CSS bug in my code?
    Professional Ancient Smugmug Shutter Geek
    Master Of Sushi Noms
    Amateur CSS Dork
  • iSparkiSpark Major grins Registered Users Posts: 119 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    I'm having the same problem!
    I login form the main smugmug page, and it takes me to my home page.
    I see the messages notification and all that. But as soon as I go to the galleries or any other page, I'm logged out and only see what guests would see.
    I can't do anything.

    I have tried logging out, that didn't help.
    It was fine last night around 6:30 or so, I even added some photos. But this morning, I can't stay logged in.
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    Pezpix wrote:
    Could it be a scripting or CSS bug in my code?
    We're not sure. Stay tuned.
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    I'm pretty sure it's a bug on our end. Hang in there for an update later.

    Meantime - use your http://nickname.smugmug.com

    Sorry :(
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    BTW Pez, isn't it the tiniest bit ironic, that we have a cookie issue and you are the one to report it? naughty.gif
  • iSparkiSpark Major grins Registered Users Posts: 119 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    I'm pretty sure it's a bug on our end. Hang in there for an update later.

    Meantime - use your http://nickname.smugmug.com

    Sorry :(
    Andy,
    I tried using http://**myactualnickname**.smugmug.com and it dosen't keep me logged in when I leave the page.

    I will wait patiently for an update :)

    I tried this on my home computer and the computer where I work.
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    iSpark wrote:
    Andy,
    I tried using http://**myactualnickname**.smugmug.com and it dosen't keep me logged in when I leave the page.

    I will wait patiently for an update :)

    I tried this on my home computer and the computer where I work.
    It works - I tried it. Please go to www.smugmug.com and logout, login. Then put http://yournickname.smugmug.com in the address bar.
  • iSparkiSpark Major grins Registered Users Posts: 119 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    It works - I tried it. Please go to www.smugmug.com and logout, login. Then put http://yournickname.smugmug.com in the address bar.

    That does indeed work. And it takes me to my homepage and looged in.
    But soon as I click "Gallery" or any other link that is on my homepage. I'm logged out on the page my links go to.
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    iSpark wrote:
    That does indeed work. And it takes me to my homepage and looged in.
    But soon as I click "Gallery" or any other link that is on my homepage. I'm logged out on the page my links go to.
    Those are your custom domain links. You must stay on nickname.smugmug.com right now to see your logged in stuff. Until we fix it.
  • denisegoldbergdenisegoldberg Major grins North Andover, MAAdministrators Posts: 13,620 moderator
    edited February 13, 2008
    iSpark wrote:
    That does indeed work. And it takes me to my homepage and looged in.
    But soon as I click "Gallery" or any other link that is on my homepage. I'm logged out on the page my links go to.

    Your nav bar is taking you to your custom domain. If you change your navbar entries to use a relative site location like <*a href="/galleries">Galleries<*/*a> (after removing the *s) you will stay within the domain that you used to enter the site, either yourname<YOUR nickname>.smugmug.com or jmphotographs.com.
    --- Denise
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    Your nav bar is taking you to your custom domain. If you change your navbar entries to use a relative site location like <*a href="/galleries">Galleries<*/*a> (after removing the *s) you will stay within the domain that you used to enter the site, either yourname<YOUR nickname>.smugmug.com or jmphotographs.com.
    --- Denise
    Yeah, relative urls FTW...

    /gallery/XXXXXXX_aX19G etc
    /Galleries
  • iSparkiSpark Major grins Registered Users Posts: 119 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    Yeah, relative urls FTW...

    /gallery/XXXXXXX_aX19G etc
    /Galleries

    ok :)
    I'll wait, no big rush....right now :)
  • iSparkiSpark Major grins Registered Users Posts: 119 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    I think it is fixed, seems to be working! :D

    Thanks for the quick help and resolution.
  • xrisxris Assignment Grinner Registered Users Posts: 546 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    Me Too!
    I'm having the same problem. Won't log in using custom domain name. Always has in the past?

    Might this have something to do with the 12!! updates I just installed for Vista?
    thumb.gif
    X www.thepicturetaker.ca
  • iSparkiSpark Major grins Registered Users Posts: 119 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    oops
    I spoke to soon, not working yet
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    What browser, for those of you having trouble?

    For me, it's all good in IE6, IE7 and Safari (Mac or Windows). Only in FF2 (Mac or Win) am I having the same issue.
  • mleemlee what. Registered Users Posts: 104 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    I'm having the same problem in FF2 (my primary broswer of choice). IE6, IE7 and Safari seem to be working fine.
  • xrisxris Assignment Grinner Registered Users Posts: 546 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    What browser, for those of you having trouble?

    For me, it's all good in IE6, IE7 and Safari (Mac or Windows). Only in FF2 (Mac or Win) am I having the same issue.
    I'm using FF/Vista at present.
    thumb.gif
    X www.thepicturetaker.ca
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    xris wrote:
    I'm using FF/Vista at present.
    thumb.gif
    Try IE7 Vista ... working
  • ehughesehughes Major grins Registered Users Posts: 1,675 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    I have the problem in both IE6 & FF
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    ehughes wrote:
    I have the problem in both IE6 & FF
    IE6? Service Pack1? 2?
    Be sure you've logged in at www.smugmug.com and then go to your custom domain.

    Let us know.
  • xrisxris Assignment Grinner Registered Users Posts: 546 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    Try IE7 Vista ... working
    IE/Vista is working, but after login I have to refresh the page to see the control buttons for 'control panel" and so on. That has happened before but has never caused a problem. Once I've refreshed I can proceed to a gallery and still be logged in.

    In FF/Vista, I have to do the same thing on the home page, but when I proceed to a gallery it won't stay logged in and won't accept another login.

    I'll try FF/Ubuntu later.

    PS

    Okay. I just played around a bit more with FF/Vista and found that:

    www.tpt.smugmug.com/fixpix will take me to the subcategory already logged in.

    www.thepicturetaker.ca/fixpix takes me to the subcategory but NOT logged in.

    It will be a major problem for me if my custom url links stop working.
    thumb.gif
    X www.thepicturetaker.ca
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    xris wrote:
    It will be a major problem for me if my custom url links stop working.
    thumb.gif
    Rest assured, they're working for visitors. We'll get the rest of this squared away, don't worry.
  • xrisxris Assignment Grinner Registered Users Posts: 546 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    Rest assured, they're working for visitors. We'll get the rest of this squared away, don't worry.
    10 - 4. Not a problem, now that I have it figured out. But, just to clarify, is this requirement to NOT use the custom hostname for login a new policy? Or is it just a glitch? I'm not too clear on that one.
    thumb.gif
    X www.thepicturetaker.ca
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    xris wrote:
    10 - 4. Not a problem, now that I have it figured out. But, just to clarify, is this requirement to NOT use the custom hostname for login a new policy? Or is it juts a glitch? I'm not too clear on that one.
    thumb.gif
    Always and forever, we've required that you login and logout at www.smugmug.com if you have a custom domain.

    http://www.smugmug.com/help/acctlogin
  • SparkySparky Major grins Buffalo, New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 104 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    Looks like you can add me to the list of people with troubles getting to their galleries and staying logged in.

    I can log in and get to my homepage and see the options for "control panel" and such, but when I click on the navbar to go to my galleries I get logged out. When I click on my navbar links that go to HTML only galleries I stay logged in.

    I just installed the new flash slideshow and wanted to move some new photos to my gallery of slide show photos(it's hidden) and can't get into my galleries.
  • xrisxris Assignment Grinner Registered Users Posts: 546 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    Always and forever, we've required that you login and logout at www.smugmug.com if you have a custom domain.

    http://www.smugmug.com/help/acctlogin
    Hmm. That's at least past of the problem then. As far as I know I've being doing it using my custom hostname for over a year now. Maybe that's why I've had small log-in glitches from time-to-time?

    Thanks Andy!
    thumb.gif
    X www.thepicturetaker.ca
  • iSparkiSpark Major grins Registered Users Posts: 119 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    I'm using FF2
    I have always used my custom domain to log in, never had a problem until today.
    It works like a charm though, with my nickname.smugmug.com way.

    I ended changing all my header navcontainer info to "http://jmphotographs.smugmug.com/&quot; to stay logged in.

    I don't understand why it worked fine for for months, and now all of a sudden it doesn't.

    I don't understand I suppose, but why have a PRO account?, if I have to use http://jmphotographs.smugmug.com instead of http://jmphotographs.com
  • xrisxris Assignment Grinner Registered Users Posts: 546 Major grins
    edited February 13, 2008
    FF/Ubuntu Too
    Andy:

    Same problem using FF/Ubuntu. But here's the problem. (I'll test more deeply later, but it seems to be true right across all my browsers.)

    If I log in from smugmug.com, that's fine. But I can't navigate using my nav bar or using any other links because they all use my custom hostname and this results in my no longer being logged in on subsequent pages. This means I must either key in all links manually, or use my control panel homepage to navigate around.

    This was not a problem before. Sure is now, though.
    thumb.gif
    X www.thepicturetaker.ca
Sign In or Register to comment.