Options

Photo Management Software

Rcphil8Rcphil8 Registered Users Posts: 15 Big grins
edited July 1, 2008 in Finishing School
Hello All!
I'm fairly new to this and need some help on photo management. Can someone recommend photomanagement softawre for a PC that is good for a novice and (eventually) a much more experienced photographer? Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    Ric GrupeRic Grupe Registered Users Posts: 9,522 Major grins
    edited March 4, 2008
    Check these out. Very flexible and easy to use.

Downloader Pro

BreezeBrowser Pro

Great support via online forum and email.
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,854 moderator
    edited March 4, 2008
    I moved this to the "Finishing School" which deals with photography software.

I also recommend Picasa which I find easy to use and works well for image management and organization. I combine that with IrfanView which has some great tools for moving and copying.

http://picasa.google.com/
    http://www.irfanview.com/
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • Options
    sunxsweetsunxsweet Registered Users Posts: 178 Major grins
    edited March 4, 2008
    Picasa is probably a good free bet.

I've recently been engrossed with Adobe Lightroom. It kicks butt for me. The ability to keyword, filter, edit w/o making permanent changes and being able to group pictures in many different ways is awesome.

I've been having so much fun in Lightroom I haven't been sharing my pics online. But i'm getting to it...
  • Options
    claudermilkclaudermilk Registered Users Posts: 2,756 Major grins
    edited March 4, 2008
    What you are asking for is known as DAM (Digital Asset Management) software.

DL Pro is an excellent download utility which I also use & helps with management, but isn't a DAM app in itself. Breezebrowser, another excellent app I use is a drive browser and also not a DAM. Same with Irfanview. All good apps, but not quite what is being asked for.