Options

Schlieren photography help please!

kalayzorkalayzor Registered Users Posts: 18 Big grins
edited October 9, 2009 in Technique
Hi! I'm a freshman in college doing some wind tunnel research involving Schlieren photography. However, this isn't really working for some reason. I have a picture of my setup below...imagine, if you will, a wind tunnel between the two elements in the middle of the setup. They each hold a plano-convex lens to focus light from the far left side (that box is a PASCO light source containing a single vertical filament bulb) through the wind tunnel and then down to the razor blade cutoff (the holder for this is the second furthest thing to the right) such that a camera (a Nikon D50 DSLR) on the far right holder will be able to capture a Schlieren image, or so I hope.

schlieren setup.JPG

I'm using a shutter speed of 1/4000 s primarily, though I have tried slower. My F-stop is set at 5.6, though I have experimented with higher and not received good results. I'm using the Nikon 70-300 AF G lens to shoot these with, and I CAN get results from taking an image of a small blowtorch...but anything less than that (I've tried a soldering iron at maximum temperature and a wing) gets me nothing. There are windows on each side of the tunnel, and I've photographed with them on and off, so it's not there that a problem lays, nor with dirt on any optical components (I've cleaned them all and have a very good quality image...but still no Schlieren effects).

Would you folks have any thoughts on what might be needed to get this to work? I'll have a couple of the pictures that I've taken from it below.

Comments

• Options
    edited May 4, 2009
    Picture with the blowtorch in view to the bottom left of the image (NOTE: this was taken before I got my hands on some micro-fiber cloth to clean my lenses):

_DSC0105.JPG
  • Options
    edited May 4, 2009
    A picture with a soldering iron:

_DSC0109.JPG
  • Options
    edited May 4, 2009