I got whacked upside the head with a Canon!

HeatherWBHeatherWB Registered Users Posts: 64 Big grins
edited August 7, 2009 in Cameras
Not literally, of course, but I am smitten, big time! :lust

Yesterday, I went to a local camera store hoping that they've have some old Pentax-mount extension tubes among their used gear for sale. While they didn't, that led to a conversation with the salesguy about how frustrating it can be to find accessories for Pentax cameras. He just so happened to pull out a gently used 40D from behind the counter, attached an EFS18-200 to it, and let me play with it. I was absolutely blown away by the super quick AF and burst mode, as well as how quiet the AF was, even though the 18-200 isn't a USM lens. Of course, I didn't have the $600+ he wanted for it, but if I had had it, I would've been very tempted to walk out of the store with it, never mind that all my lenses are Pentax-compatible. :lol

I've been shooting with Pentax for almost 2 years (in Oct.) and have been pretty happy with it, for the most part. Other than messing around a little bit with my dad's Canon XSi (since replaced by the T1i), I really hadn't played around with anything else in the DSLR world, so I really didn't have much to go by in comparing things like AF speed and such. Even with that, there have been times where I've become really frustrated with AF hunting and noise on my K20D in addition to the lack of accessories, either Pentax or 3rd party.