Options

Starting from nothing

80weeks80weeks Registered Users Posts: 97 Big grins
edited October 10, 2009 in Digital Darkroom
My husband and I have been travelling for the past 18 months and during this time I've (oh alright him too) got really interested in photography. So we are arriving home shortly with 15,000 odd photos just waiting to be edited and we need a computer to do it on. In an extra twist, I'm a mac person whilst he's a PC person although we are both comfortable on either system. So what would you get?

The top two contenders

2.66GHz intel core 2 duo imac 24", 4GB RAM, 1TB harddrive

or

Dell computer 2.66GHz i7 processor, 4GB RAM, 1TB harddrive with a 24" IPS screen

These are both the same cost in Australia (within $20 in fact), so does one have any advantage over the other or do we just have to box it out? :duel
Happy to consider other options or if there is anything important we need to consider in terms of photo editing.

Comments

• Options
    bandgeekndbbandgeekndb Registered Users Posts: 284 Major grins
    edited September 14, 2009
    Depending on how you're going to work with the photos (and I'm not sure how programs like LightRoom would handle this), but here's what I would suggest:

IF you can spare the extra $$:

Get the imac (although you'll have to see if there are opinions on that display vs. a nicer IPS panel), and then put Windows 7 on there with the Mac OS.

Then, format the HD into 3 partitions, Windows system, Mac system, and data, like pictures, documents, etc. That way, pics are accessible from both Windows and Mac.

I say this because I'm "comfortable" on Mac, but I much prefer the Windows OS.

So again, this relies on you having the extra $$ for a copy of Windows, the quality of the iMac screen, and your comfort level with the solution I suggested above. I'm a geek, so it seems simple to me, but I understand not everyone knows or wants to know that much about computers.