Options

Help me spend 2K-- to get a camera for my day job

lisarhinehartlisarhinehart Registered Users Posts: 279 Major grins
edited October 31, 2009 in Cameras
Hello all :)
I have a budget (max of 2k) to spend on a camera (read: body, lens, flash-- everything) in the next month. I have been using my own equipment to shoot for 7 years, and recently obtained funds (up to $2,000) to purchase something for my workplace that I could use instead. The problem-- I have spent a lot more than 2k on my current set of equipment.

They were happy with the stuff I took on my power-shot, but much more happy with the 50D stuff. I would shoot all kinds of things for them-- mostly people at events-- plenty of them poorly lit or in close quarters. I remember with the powershot, I found needing a better flash, higher ISO, and better bokeh (like what you get with a prime lens) what I needed.

*At first I was thinking a 50D with 50 mm and 580ex, but then the crop factor with the 50 wouldn't be as all purpose as I'd like. It would work with low light and for people, but not the close quarters. I can just see me still needing to bring in my own lenses, better than bringing everything, but for that reason I'm still looking.

*Then someone mentioned the g9(?) might be good b/c then people other than me could use it and would have a lens that covers a wide range like a point and shoot, but with better quality. I woudl have plenty of $$$ left to add a flash, but on that little camera(?). Plus, I've never used one.

What do you think? What would you purchase if in my position?
Lisa
My Website

Comments

• Options
    du8diedu8die Registered Users Posts: 358 Major grins
    edited October 27, 2009
    You can pick up a 40d in the $700 range, A 580ex somewhere around $300-400, which will still leave about $900-$1000 for glass and other accessories. If you're using flash, you can get away with something like a 70-200/4 L.