Options

Alien Bees Flash Units...

Candid ArtsCandid Arts Registered Users Posts: 1,685 Major grins
edited March 28, 2010 in Accessories
So I am just a learning portraiture photographer, trying to get better. I've heard a lot about the Alien Bees flash units and how they are great for beginners, but not a "high quality" flash unit. Looking at the price tag, I can see that. However I'm wondering why? What is bad about them that makes them so cheap? What breaks when it breaks? Does it break fast? Is it replaceable, if so...for cheap? Is the light quality poor?

Thanks for anyone's help. My girlfriend and I are looking at getting a set of the B800's pretty soon.

-Bryce

Comments

• Options
    ClixphotoClixphoto Registered Users Posts: 228 Major grins
    edited February 28, 2010
    I'm no expert because I've only had mine for about two months. I ordered the 800 as well because I was doing a sports league and needed something that used ac power for all day shooting. Of course as soon as it came in I had to play with it in my home studio and was pleased with how simple it is to use. As I said I used it for about 11 hours of continued shooting with a 30 minute lunch break. I did this shoot with the sync cord plugged directly to the camera and it performed flawlessly. For the next shoot I used it in tandem with another light that I fired with a Cybersync radio trigger. The 800 fired all day using the built in slave trigger and again performed flawlessly. I'm sure as I mature as a photographer I might find somthing this light lacks. But for now I can't imagine a better on-location light.

Wes
    www.clix-photo.com
  • Options
    John KeaneJohn Keane Registered Users Posts: 25 Big grins
    edited February 28, 2010
    Alien Bees
    I have a pair of AB800 lights. I love them. Light weight, simple construction and reliable. Recycle time is fast and the light output is consistent.