Options

Dance Studio pictures

fredjclausfredjclaus Registered Users Posts: 759 Major grins
edited November 10, 2010 in Mind Your Own Business
My daughter, son, and baby (well 3 now) started dance lessons. This is my daughters 2nd year, but my baby and Son's first year. I walked into the studio to sign them all up and the studio owner and I got to talking about her class pictures. When I told her I was a photographer she asked "What percentage do you give?" I'm assuming that was referring to the kickback the photographer gives the studio.

Do any of you give a kickback to your dance studios for the pictures that are ordered? If so how much do you give?
Fred J Claus
Commercial Photographer
http://www.FredJClaus.com
http://www.Fredjclaus.com/originals

Save on your own SmugMug account. Just enter Coupon code i2J0HIOcEElwI at checkout

Comments

• Options
    msfmsf Registered Users Posts: 229 Major grins
    edited August 24, 2010
    I think 10% is normal for this sort of thing. You could start off by asking what she has received in the past.
  • Options
    ColoradoSkierColoradoSkier Registered Users Posts: 267 Major grins
    edited August 24, 2010
    Been wondering the same thing for a few organizations I am thinking about going after, my daughters new dance class being one of them...
    Chester Bullock
    Lakewood, Colorado, USA
    My Pictures | My blog
    Facebook | Twitter
  • Options
    edited August 24, 2010
    Thanks for the input. The look I got from her when I said 15% was a bit confusing. I wasn't sure if it was that my percent was too low, or if I gave her more than the other photographers.
    Fred J Claus
    Commercial Photographer

Save on your own SmugMug account. Just enter Coupon code i2J0HIOcEElwI at checkout
  • Options
    edited August 24, 2010
    The individual studios might be interested in posed shots as well. I did a ballet studios pics last year. :)