Options

... switching yet again

Jeremy WinterbergJeremy Winterberg Registered Users Posts: 1,233 Major grins
edited November 1, 2010 in Cameras
ok, I have serious issues. I seem to switch cameras consistently every 6 months or so.

For those that dont know my background I've been shooting Nikon since November 2009, before that I shot Canon since Oct 2008. Holy crap! I just realized I bought my first DSLR two years ago on the 12th! Crazy how time flies!

Anyways, I'm selling my Nikon D700, Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G, Nikkor 105mm f/2DC and am getting a 5DMKII.. I know.. someone needs to cancel my Fred Miranda account.. cause this is getting ridiculous! haha

I'm trying to think of a good lens line-up to go with it for portraits/weddings which is what I do. The budget for lenses would be around $1150 to start out, I will add more lenses when there is room in the budget for it.

I have an idea as to what I want, but I'd like to hear your thoughts.

I will be using the video features of it quite often (which is a main reason why I'm going with the 5DMKII) , so what lenses work best for video? Meaning quality, distortion, focusing ease (the video is 100% manual focus right? autofocus doesn't work?), etc..

To be honest.. one thing that has been driving me nuts about Nikon is the lens mount.. Every time I switch lenses I try to turn to the left to take it off and to the right to put it on. WHY IS NIKON BACKWARDS!?? LEFTY LOOSY RIGHTY TIGHTY!
Jer

Comments

• Options
    trevorbtrevorb Registered Users Posts: 263 Major grins
    edited October 17, 2010
    I like primes… So if it were me… a Sigma 50 1.4 at $500 or Canon 50 1.4 at $349 and a Canon 85 1.8 at $360 total= $709-$860. You can auto focus on the 5D Mark II during video but it is slow and will get picked up in the recording.
  • Options
    Dan7312Dan7312 Registered Users Posts: 1,330 Major grins
    edited October 17, 2010