Options

Idea for a new challenge

JennJenn Registered Users Posts: 1,009 Major grins
edited February 7, 2013 in The Dgrin Challenges
I've entered a lot of the regular challenges over the last couple of years, and really enjoyed them and have learned a great deal from everyone, but I've been getting discouraged lately about the odds of ever coming close to winning. I know I don't have the equipment or even the experience to win first place against professionals, although I've gotten lucky and placed a few times, but still, never first place. I also know people say it shouldn't be about *winning*, but everyone shoots for the gold when they enter a contest even if they don't say it out loud, right? I'm contemplating buying a new camera, but at the same time I could just as easily back away from doing that or even entering the challenges at this point, which I don't want to give up, either. At the same time, I still know I'm not a professional and I'm competing against professionals, which can be the sort of thing that spurs me on to being a better photographer, but can also be very discouraging and frustrating at times.

That said, I was wondering if there could be an official new challenge started with similar prizes for participants who don't have a professional status, as in, they don't have a photography business, or have never placed first in any challenge (for example if someone placed first in one of the last 2 or 3 other challenges of any sort they would have to wait to enter until the wait time was over to enter the non-pros challenge again).

It's just an idea I've been mulling over trying to find a way to not only encourage myself to keep competing against professionals, but to also compete against non-professionals where I might actually have a chance to win on occasion. That would give me and maybe other non-professionals just enough encouragement to keep trying vs. wanting to give up altogether.

Anyway ... just a thought.
Jenn (from Oklahoma)