Options

How did Canon got white color lenses?

2»

Comments

• Options
    JamesJWegJamesJWeg Registered Users Posts: 795 Major grins
    edited March 6, 2006
    I always thought the white/gray lens just looked cool, then I started shooting races, in the heat of the summer, no shade, black lens, all day, now I truly understand it isn't about the looks. Ever burn your hand on your lens? I have. Cooked the greese right out of one lens, it squeeks when focusing now. umph.gif

James.
  • Options
    ziggy53ziggy53 Super Moderators Posts: 23,921 moderator
    edited March 6, 2006
    MarkM6 wrote:
    You know... I, really am starting to believe that they [Nikon] are catching up to Canon! That's put them at 2nd palce.

What is said about the 2nd place; the first loser!

P.S. It does make me sad since I have never own any other SLR (Film or Digital) than Nikon.

I really can't think that way, that there is a first-place camera, etc. I eventually want three camera systems (very much IMHO):

Canon based system:

It is well known that Canon has the most extensive lineup of lenses and the best 3rd-party lens support of all the brands. I am underway in acquiring, within reason and bank-account, a good spread of lenses for my planned purposes.

Canon 50mm, f1.8
    Pentax 50mm, f1.4 (w/mount adapter)
    Sigma 18-50mm, f2.8
    Canon 24-85mm, f3.5-4.5
    Canon 70-200mm, f2.8
    Tokina 80-200mm, f2.8
    Tamron 75-300mm, f4-5.6
    Vivitar 500mm, f6.3 (w/mount adapter)

While I currently have a Canon 1.6 crop camera, Canon full-frame bodies have a very smooth texture, which I would appreciate for portrait and sky work. The creamy-smoothness is hard to duplicate in software, and the FF chips produce it (smoothness) right out of the box. (Note that most of the lenses I have will also work on FF bodies.)

Nikon based system: