Options

Just got a 10,000 $$$ Grant help

ExpressionsByAprilExpressionsByApril Registered Users Posts: 13 Big grins
edited May 21, 2008 in The Big Picture
Hi, i am April. i just got a $10,000 grant and need to know what all would be neat and a must to have for a photography business. I have been a hobbyist for years and done a few people shoots (portraits) and have 2 wedding coming up. I have also had a few classes in photography.

If you had $10,000 to start a business what would you buy?

I already have 2 sets of umbrella lights and a backdrop stand, a blue backdrop and a mirror.

Please give me some ideas from printers, to cameras even I think i want a Nikon d300 or a canon rebel XTI. What do u suggest?

What props do I need?

What color backdrops?

What kind of strobes or soft boxes?

I need help, i have until thrusday to come up with everything I want and need.

Also I am so happy. I am from Georgia and got the grant through the state of Georgia. I feel like i won on a lottery ticket. LOL

This is my chance to really do something besides go to college which I do plan on finishing and getting my psych dregree.

Thanks for helping me in advance.

April:lust

Comments

• Options
    PineapplePhotoPineapplePhoto Registered Users Posts: 474 Major grins
    edited May 11, 2008
    Do you need to pay back this money? headscratch.gif
    Body: Canon 1D Mark II N | Canon 30D w/BG-E2 Flash: Canon 580EX II | Quantum T4d | Strobes & Monolights
    Glass: Sigma 70-200 f2.8 | Sigma 20 f1.8 | Canon 28-135 f3.5-5.6 IS USM
  • Options
    edited May 11, 2008
    Do you need to pay back this money? headscratch.gif

No I do NOT have to pay the money back. :)
  • Options
    jonh68jonh68 Registered Users Posts: 2,711 Major grins
    edited May 12, 2008
    Regardless if you go canon or nikon, get two cameras.

Next stop is getting pro grade glass, but you need to tell us what you are going to be doing. It seems you are going for a portrait studio.