Options

Smugmug a Rip Off?

Comments

• Options
    56Kruiser56Kruiser Registered Users Posts: 116 Major grins
    edited November 20, 2011
    I'm struggling with what to set my prices at. I ran across this thread while trying to find discussion on pricing. I'm a brand new Pro customer, and have a year to go to see how it goes. I'm curious how much success people have selling from their sites... for those like me, which at this point, is strictly selling via the SM site, not using it to proof and fulfill existing clients. I"m actually pessimistic about selling much.

Anyway, on to the topic: I am a bit surprised to find that SM upcharges the costs for Bay, on top of the 15% charge. I have no complaints about the 15%; I feel the $150 annual fee is relatively reasonable for the base services provide.

But on pricing, frankly, I feel that all the business that SM brings to Bay should allow for more of a wholesale price which should be passed to us, not a marked up price from what we could get purchasing direct.

How on earth can we expect to mark up an already marked up price, when for example any half way savvy person doing a search for metal prints finds Bay Photo at the top of the list, quoting a price less than our cost? If they really want our pictures (which of course is what we all really want them to do) they can purchase a relatively inexpensive digital version then print at Bay.

All this being said, as far as services and support go, with only a little time in this so far, I am quite happy.
  • Options
    jfriendjfriend Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited November 20, 2011
    56Kruiser wrote: »