Options

The Canon 1dx

Comments

• Options
    Stuart-MStuart-M Registered Users Posts: 157 Major grins
    edited October 20, 2011
    IMHO, the 5D is aimed at 2 main markets. Firstly wedding photographers, secondly video.

For the former, 18MP is plenty and the high ISO with this sensor would be a huge advantage. For Video, the reduced moire with this sensor would be a huge step forward. For those 2 reasons, it makes a lot of sense to put this sensor in the 5D3.

There is one other reason of course. Having just 1 FF sensor simplifies things a lot and reduces costs.

As a wedding photographer myself, I could not afford a 1DX and many of the features are overkill for my needs. If the 5D3 had 30+ MP and only slightly better high ISO performance than the 5D2 I, for one, would not be interested in it. When you're taking 5000+ images over a weekend the idea of them being twice the size of the 5D2 files is not a nice one.

From other wedding photographers I know more mega pixels is the last thing they want.
  • Options
    NetgardenNetgarden Registered Users Posts: 829 Major grins
    edited October 20, 2011
    Don't count me in as being excited about the X. I have no need, and am satisfied with my present MKIV and III. I think canon made a big mistake if they discontinue the 1.3 cameras. They are the ONE edge we have over Nikon when it comes to sports and wildlife. I certainly hope they will continue the IV or canon just may lose the edge over Nikon in wildlife shooting.

I doubt canon will make a 5DIII with any more pixels than the X. Who would buy the X if the 5DIII was so phenomenal???

Forgot to add, why would anyone think the 7D would suffice for wildlife? No way does the IV compare. I've had them both. Canon would be stupid to stop production of the IV.
  • Options
    edited October 20, 2011
    Netgarden wrote: »