Frame Fillers - How To

Comments

• Tim KamppinenTim Kamppinen Registered Users Posts: 816 Major grins
    edited April 11, 2011
    DavidTO wrote: »
    Have you ever tried using an extension tube to up the bokeh? I use that for shooting flowers, and never thought about shooting an actual person with it, but while on a recent outing I was showing Travis the extension tube and snapped this one quickly.

Hey, that's pretty sweet. I have some very basic extension tubes that I've used for macro shots, but I never thought to use it with a long tele lens for a portrait like that. I might have to give it a shot with my Nikon 80-200 and see what I can get...
  • jeffreaux2jeffreaux2 Registered Users Posts: 4,762 Major grins
    edited April 11, 2011
    Thank you for this thread! I'm very new to portrait photography and these "how to" posts are really helpful!

I talked my husband into posing for me. Feedback is appreciated!

I think you did a great job!clap.gifclapclap.gif

But....

Be careful of all that black! The levels histogram in photoshop shows that a good portion of the blacks are out of range....or "plugged". This can be corrected by setting a black point during editing.

1248548311_RJXDy-XL.jpg

Also....your hubby is like several folks I have photographed in that one eye appears much smaller than the other. Watch out for that natural tendency of his and be sure he is opening his eyes up for the shot!thumb.gif
  • christinamaechristinamae Registered Users Posts: 484 Major grins
    edited April 11, 2011
    jeffreaux2 wrote: »
    I think you did a great job!clap.gifclapclap.gif

But....

Be careful of all that black! The levels histogram in photoshop shows that a good portion of the blacks are out of range....or "plugged". This can be corrected by setting a black point during editing.