Options

Rookie here and feeling....overwhelmed

Harper77Harper77 Registered Users Posts: 12 Big grins
edited September 10, 2011 in Cameras
Hello everyone!
Newbie to the whole world of camera's and a recent U2 concert has my thoughts really going about wanting to start taking better pics. We had amazing location at the show and while we used our little Sony digital point-and-shoot camera, the pics really didn't do justice to what we experienced.

I think its time to upgrade to an actual digital SLR camera.

However, being a rookie, I have no idea where to start my search. Hell, I don't even know how to hold an SLR camera! I feel like a tool.

I hope ones on here can help me.

I do know its either a Canon or Nikon - will not accept any other type. Other than that........where do I start lol :dunno

Comments

• Options
    ThatCanonGuyThatCanonGuy Registered Users Posts: 1,778 Major grins
    edited July 13, 2011
    What's your budget? A good Canon combo for a concert might be a Rebel T2i/T3i with an 85 f/1.8 or 100 f/2 lens. Depends on how close you are. When you need low light capability (like at a concert), you need two things: a fast-aperture lens (the lower the f/number, the better) and a camera with good high ISO capability. The combo I mentioned above have that. A camera like the 60D, 7D, or 5D Mark II (expensive) would have better high ISO capability, but they cost more. You'll probably be using ISO 1600 or above, so like I said you'll need a camera with good high ISO.

Go to a camera store website, like Adorama or B&H, and see what you can afford. Then read reviews on the equipment; here is a good review site.
  • Options
    SamSam Registered Users Posts: 7,419 Major grins
    edited July 13, 2011
    This can not be answered in 25 words or less.

I recommend you begin reading all you can about DSLR's, photography in general, and specific camera models in your price range.