Options

New PC advice: Sell me a mac..

NHBubbaNHBubba Registered Users Posts: 342 Major grins
edited March 3, 2006 in Digital Darkroom
Okay mac-heads, here's your chance to convert another Wintel'er: Sell me a mac..

I've used Windows PCs since Bell labs introduced the transistor.. okay, maybe not quite that long, but I've used PCs for a long time. I've gone up through the ranks from the dark DOS days to 3.1 to '95 to NT, 2000 and now XP. I am one of those loosers that defends PC's and Windows on Internet chat-rooms and forums.

At home I run an aging AMD Athlon 1400+ w/ 1 GB of RAM and an average video card. My motherboard is pre USB 2.0 and was not equipped w/ firewire or SCSI. So over the years I've tacked on add-on cards to make up for these deficiencies. Considering what I paid for the PC ~3-4 years ago, she's more than paid for herself. I presently run Win2k.

I used to game, but I don't much anymore. I have a console box under the TV to do that. I am a computer professional, but I grow tired of mucking w/ computers after the quiting time whistle blows. That said, I can and certianly don't mind doing it myself if it saves me some money. I am cheaper than Uncle Scrooge ever dreamed of being.

98% of what I do on my PC these days is edit photos using Photoshop CS (too cheap to upgrade to CS2!), balance my checkbook (M$ Money 2003), surf thy web (firefox), and play them tunes (winamp). I've read all 15 some-odd pages of Andy's conversion before he purchased his brownout-inducing quad G5 powerhouse and am just about convinced. I see now that Apple's Mac OSX can do just about everything I need it to do, and do it well. I see the light: OSX is a wonderful thing. I would like to get it. Please show me the way.

Unfortunately I've got that nasty cheapskate streak. So I've priced up what If feel is a pretty nifty new win-tel PC:
  • Antec PERFORMANCE TX635 Beige Steel ATX Mini Tower Computer Case 350W Power Supply - Retail - 89.99