SmugMug Bug Reporting Thread

ThandoThando SmugMug Help HoundRegistered Users Posts: 148 Major grins
edited March 26, 2009 in Bug Reporting
Something not working right? Might be a bug, reply here. Give us all the details you can. Anything that might be relevant like your browser. Are you logged in? What were you doing before the problem? Send us a link to the SmugMug page you were using. Anything that you can think of to help us track down the problem.

Old threads are here:
http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=101321
http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=79244
http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=44268
http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=40326
http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=23483

If you had an issue that was not addressed in the last thread, please bring it to our attention. Reading through the thread, it seemed that all issues had been addressed but I've been wrong once before.
«1345

Comments

  • ashishpandeyashishpandey Behind the lens Grinner Registered Users Posts: 100 Big grins
    edited January 13, 2009
    Thando wrote:
    If you had an issue that was not addressed in the last thread, please bring it to our attention. Reading through the thread, it seemed that all issues had been addressed

    I posted the following in the last thread.
    http://www.dgrin.com/showpost.php?p=978612&postcount=235
    The only response I got was something like "we will see, stay tuned". I am not sure if this is considered addressed, or this minor thing slipped off your radar :)
    Ashish
    http://photography.ashishpandey.com
    smugmug ID: ashishpandey (but I prefer my domain URL above :D)
  • ashishpandeyashishpandey Behind the lens Grinner Registered Users Posts: 100 Big grins
    edited January 13, 2009
    Keywords inconsistent
    I posted this in another thread, but got no reponse from smugmug, so think I should post it in the bug reporting thread instead

    It seems that smugmug is little inconsistent in applying some of my keywords. As an example, look at the following 2 photos:

    1. http://photography.ashish-pragya.com...52114921_kNJDM

    2. http://photography.ashish-pragya.com...52113474_VqHMo

    If you download the original, you will see that both have a keyword "Rating: 1 Star" embedded

    If you look at the keywords indexed by smugmug (below the photo in gallery), photo 1 has keyword "rating 1 star", but photo 2 is missing it

    It seems a bug that smugmug understand the keyword for some photos but not other? Now the rating system from my DAM workflow is all messed up on my galleries :cry

    Here is the original thread that didn't seem to get any answer
    Ashish
    http://photography.ashishpandey.com
    smugmug ID: ashishpandey (but I prefer my domain URL above :D)
  • hyachtshyachts Major grins Registered Users Posts: 269 Major grins
    edited January 13, 2009
    Thando wrote:
    If you had an issue that was not addressed in the last thread, please bring it to our attention. Reading through the thread, it seemed that all issues had been addressed but I've been wrong once before.

    Depends on what you mean by addressed... Andy "addressed" the slideshow caption cut-off bug by saying you know about it and that it is personally aggravating to him, but AFAIK it has not been fixed. So... consider it re-reported. Not addressed in any useful sense.
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited January 13, 2009
    I posted the following in the last thread.
    http://www.dgrin.com/showpost.php?p=978612&postcount=235
    The only response I got was something like "we will see, stay tuned". I am not sure if this is considered addressed, or this minor thing slipped off your radar :)
    I'm still not quite sure I understand this one. Tell me again please what I should see here
    http://photography.ashish-pragya.com/gallery/6462715_gEKoA#427534696_cTXo4
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited January 13, 2009
    hyachts wrote:
    Depends on what you mean by addressed... Andy "addressed" the slideshow caption cut-off bug by saying you know about it and that it is personally aggravating to him, but AFAIK it has not been fixed. So... consider it re-reported. Not addressed in any useful sense.
    It's not been fixed but it's being addressed. I dunno what more I can say, other than the Sorcerer involved is working on it.
  • ashishpandeyashishpandey Behind the lens Grinner Registered Users Posts: 100 Big grins
    edited January 14, 2009
    imgBorderOn not set
    Andy wrote:
    I'm still not quite sure I understand this one. Tell me again please what I should see here
    http://photography.ashish-pragya.com/gallery/6462715_gEKoA#427534696_cTXo4

    Sure. When you land on that page, and look at the thumbs on left, there is no way to identify which thumb is the currently selected one. Now if you start to navigate (using arrow keys, or by clicking at another thumb), you will see that the selected thumbnail is highlighted in a green border (similar border to large image on right)

    The reason for above is that the css property imgBorderOn is not set when you first land on the page. Once you start navigating, the property is set on the current image

    Agallia thought it may not be considered a bug because it is obvious that first photo is selected, and it only affects customized sites. Both of these assumptions are incorrect, as you may share a URL that lands directly on any photo in the gallery (explained here) and even the default smugmug style has the same issue (explained here)

    Besides, Allen acknowledged the same issue in my first post on the topic

    Let me know is it is still unclear, and I will be happy to post screenshots to help you see it
    Ashish
    http://photography.ashishpandey.com
    smugmug ID: ashishpandey (but I prefer my domain URL above :D)
  • hyachtshyachts Major grins Registered Users Posts: 269 Major grins
    edited January 14, 2009
    Andy wrote:
    It's not been fixed but it's being addressed. I dunno what more I can say, other than the Sorcerer involved is working on it.

    Knowing it is "known" is one step (done, two bug threads ago at least), knowing it is being addressed is another (done, now) and the last step is knowing that it has been addressed. That, it should come as no surprise, is the piece that's most relevant to bug reporters. Until that last piece is in place it seems worthwhile to make sure it keeps being mentioned as a bug.
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited January 14, 2009
    hyachts wrote:
    Knowing it is "known" is one step (done, two bug threads ago at least), knowing it is being addressed is another (done, now) and the last step is knowing that it has been addressed. That, it should come as no surprise, is the piece that's most relevant to bug reporters. Until that last piece is in place it seems worthwhile to make sure it keeps being mentioned as a bug.
    Yachts, it's been fixed internally and is awaiting a future release.
  • jfriendjfriend Scripting dude-volunteer Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited January 15, 2009
    Thando wrote:
    If you had an issue that was not addressed in the last thread, please bring it to our attention. Reading through the thread, it seemed that all issues had been addressed but I've been wrong once before.

    I guess I'm still wondering how I know if something has been "addressed" or not? What do you mean by that? There are lots of things that have been written about in these threads that haven't been fixed yet.
    --John
    HomepagePopular
    JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
    Always include a link to your site when posting a question
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited January 15, 2009
    jfriend wrote:
    I guess I'm still wondering how I know if something has been "addressed" or not? What do you mean by that? There are lots of things that have been written about in these threads that haven't been fixed yet.

    We try to acknowledge if something's a bug - and that we have it on our buglist. We try to tell you (or any poster) if something's not a bug, too.

    Please let us know if we've missed something - thanks!
  • ashishpandeyashishpandey Behind the lens Grinner Registered Users Posts: 100 Big grins
    edited January 15, 2009
    Andy wrote:
    We try to acknowledge if something's a bug - and that we have it on our buglist. We try to tell you (or any poster) if something's not a bug, too.

    Please let us know if we've missed something - thanks!

    So what is your assessment so far on post #2 and #3 in this thread? I also elaborated on the issue in #2 later
    Ashish
    http://photography.ashishpandey.com
    smugmug ID: ashishpandey (but I prefer my domain URL above :D)
  • jfriendjfriend Scripting dude-volunteer Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited January 15, 2009
    Thando wrote:
    If you had an issue that was not addressed in the last thread, please bring it to our attention. Reading through the thread, it seemed that all issues had been addressed but I've been wrong once before.

    It appears that slideshow thumbs are still busted when the slideshow runs off a feed. In these posts in the latest bug reporting thread, there was a back and forth exchange about it. We concluded that it's a problem anytime the slideshow runs off a feed and it's still reproducible in this site, but we never saw any followup from Smugmug other than Andy's request to clear cookies which doesn't appear to have anything to do with it.
    --John
    HomepagePopular
    JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
    Always include a link to your site when posting a question
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited January 15, 2009
    jfriend wrote:
    It appears that slideshow thumbs are still busted when the slideshow runs off a feed. In these posts in the latest bug reporting thread, there was a back and forth exchange about it. We concluded that it's a problem anytime the slideshow runs off a feed and it's still reproducible in this site, but we never saw any followup from Smugmug other than Andy's request to clear cookies which doesn't appear to have anything to do with it.


    Am I missing something? Help me out so I can help you guys...thanks!

    20090116-pqxuq714nm47417e8t1yw8xrmg.jpg
  • jfriendjfriend Scripting dude-volunteer Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited January 15, 2009
    Andy wrote:
    Am I missing something? Help me out so I can help you guys...thanks!

    Click on a thumb. It always just takes you to the first image in the slideshow. It doesn't take you to the selected thumb.
    --John
    HomepagePopular
    JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
    Always include a link to your site when posting a question
  • ThandoThando SmugMug Help Hound Registered Users Posts: 148 Major grins
    edited January 15, 2009
    I posted the following in the last thread.
    http://www.dgrin.com/showpost.php?p=978612&postcount=235
    The only response I got was something like "we will see, stay tuned". I am not sure if this is considered addressed, or this minor thing slipped off your radar :)

    So, I didn't see any highlighted thumbnails in Firefox3 on Vista and Mac. And I saw the issue you described in IE7 on Vista and Safari on Mac. It's definitely inconsistent and we should give it some attention. I'll make sure that the engineers know about it. I'm sorry that you didn't get an earlier response.
  • ThandoThando SmugMug Help Hound Registered Users Posts: 148 Major grins
    edited January 15, 2009
    I posted this in another thread, but got no reponse from smugmug, so think I should post it in the bug reporting thread instead

    It seems that smugmug is little inconsistent in applying some of my keywords. As an example, look at the following 2 photos:

    1. http://photography.ashish-pragya.com...52114921_kNJDM

    2. http://photography.ashish-pragya.com...52113474_VqHMo

    If you download the original, you will see that both have a keyword "Rating: 1 Star" embedded

    If you look at the keywords indexed by smugmug (below the photo in gallery), photo 1 has keyword "rating 1 star", but photo 2 is missing it

    It seems a bug that smugmug understand the keyword for some photos but not other? Now the rating system from my DAM workflow is all messed up on my galleries :cry

    Here is the original thread that didn't seem to get any answer

    When I click on the edit link under each photo, I see that the keywords are stored differently there. One has quotes around each and every set of keywords. While the other doesn't have quotes at all. But, both show Rating: 1star in that box. If I put quotes around Rating: 1star for the photo without it showing it appears when I save. So, it seems that somehow quotes were put on one but not the other. Do you have another example, I'd really like to figure out why quotes are put on one but not the other.
  • ThandoThando SmugMug Help Hound Registered Users Posts: 148 Major grins
    edited January 15, 2009
    Thando wrote:
    When I click on the edit link under each photo, I see that the keywords are stored differently there. One has quotes around each and every set of keywords. While the other doesn't have quotes at all. But, both show Rating: 1star in that box. If I put quotes around Rating: 1star for the photo without it showing it appears when I save. So, it seems that somehow quotes were put on one but not the other. Do you have another example, I'd really like to figure out why quotes are put on one but not the other.
    Additionally, as I'm testing this, I can't seem to get the Rating: 1star keyword to automatically appear at all unless I manually put that one in quotes.
  • jfriendjfriend Scripting dude-volunteer Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited January 15, 2009
    Thando wrote:
    Additionally, as I'm testing this, I can't seem to get the Rating: 1star keyword to automatically appear at all unless I manually put that one in quotes.
    It is a long standing issue with Smugmug that no IPTC keywords upon upload are properly indexed if they have mixed alphanumerics in them. 1star is such a keyword. Andy and I have discussed and documented the issues in depth in previous discussions (which could be found via search). I believe he said JT or someone would look at it sometime, but that was awhlie ago and I haven't heard anything about it since.

    The only way to get it indexed is to set it inside of Smugmug's keyword UI by putting quotes around it. This is a royal pain and basically means mixed alphanumeric keywords don't work in Smugmug without redoing your keywords after uploading. It certainly appears to me like at least a major design deficiency or maybe even a bug if the desire was to actually index all IPTC keywords that an image arrives with (which I assume is the desire and believe should be the desire).
    --John
    HomepagePopular
    JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
    Always include a link to your site when posting a question
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited January 15, 2009
    jfriend wrote:
    It appears that slideshow thumbs are still busted when the slideshow runs off a feed. In these posts in the latest bug reporting thread, there was a back and forth exchange about it. We concluded that it's a problem anytime the slideshow runs off a feed and it's still reproducible in this site, but we never saw any followup from Smugmug other than Andy's request to clear cookies which doesn't appear to have anything to do with it.
    It's bugged to Shizam. Thanks John!
  • ashishpandeyashishpandey Behind the lens Grinner Registered Users Posts: 100 Big grins
    edited January 15, 2009
    Thando wrote:
    When I click on the edit link under each photo, I see that the keywords are stored differently there. One has quotes around each and every set of keywords. While the other doesn't have quotes at all. But, both show Rating: 1star in that box. If I put quotes around Rating: 1star for the photo without it showing it appears when I save. So, it seems that somehow quotes were put on one but not the other. Do you have another example, I'd really like to figure out why quotes are put on one but not the other.

    It seems it regressed at some point in time

    If you look at the following galleries, they seem to have picked up the keywords fine
    http://photography.ashish-pragya.com/gallery/6436961_CCRLu/1/429569586_ggxvW#429569586_ggxvW
    http://photography.ashish-pragya.com/gallery/6462845_v6RmC/2/409933723_PYty9#409929083_YxD8m
    http://photography.ashish-pragya.com/gallery/6462898_tZyCb/1/409932038_5FPc5#409932660_JCVYJ

    If you look at most of my other galleries (which I presume have been uploaded more recently), the keywords go missing
    http://photography.ashish-pragya.com/gallery/6503417_322Wz#413137151_GQSbB
    http://photography.ashish-pragya.com/gallery/6503169_zZpZa#413120956_R2mcK
    http://photography.ashish-pragya.com/gallery/6462715_gEKoA#409914825_xGACn

    The second set is larger, and it seems these days I can never get my uploaded pictures to identify my rating keywords. Does this mean it used to work earlier and is completely broken now? That may be a good direction to look at

    If you want more examples, look at my galleries. Almost all of my images have rating keywords, and in most galleries they are not showing up

    Since the data seems to be there when we hit edit, can I assume that all my keywords would come back to life when you get around to fixing that? mwink.gif
    Ashish
    http://photography.ashishpandey.com
    smugmug ID: ashishpandey (but I prefer my domain URL above :D)
  • jfriendjfriend Scripting dude-volunteer Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited January 17, 2009
    Here's a minor CSS formatting bug. In a site with just the mini-Smugmug footer and the smugmugBlack-xxxxxx-stretch.css style (no other theme applied), when viewing a stretchy gallery, the mini-footer won't center itself properly (it's about 20px off).

    The #footer object has a min-width of 755px via a style rule in smugmugBlack and 15px margins on left/right, yet it's container object #cobrand_footer is only 750px wide. Thus, the mini-footer can't center itself properly inside the cobrand_footer and it ends up about 20px off center. This was made more obvious in this site, because he has some correctly centered text right above the mini-footer and the two were not lining up. He has since fixed his site with this customization:

    #footer {min-width:700px !important;}

    so now the #footer mini-footer is small enough to center itself properly.

    I'm writing this up because it's probably something that should get tweaked in the smugmugBlack css file at some point. Obviously not super important, but hopefully one of those things that can get cleaned up to keep things looking polished.
    --John
    HomepagePopular
    JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
    Always include a link to your site when posting a question
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited January 17, 2009
    jfriend wrote:
    Here's a minor CSS formatting bug. In a site with just the mini-Smugmug footer and the smugmugBlack-xxxxxx-stretch.css style (no other theme applied), when viewing a stretchy gallery, the mini-footer won't center itself properly (it's about 20px off).

    The #footer object has a min-width of 755px via a style rule in smugmugBlack and 15px margins on left/right, yet it's container object #cobrand_footer is only 750px wide. Thus, the mini-footer can't center itself properly inside the cobrand_footer and it ends up about 20px off center. This was made more obvious in this site, because he has some correctly centered text right above the mini-footer and the two were not lining up. He has since fixed his site with this customization:

    #footer {min-width:700px !important;}

    so now the #footer mini-footer is small enough to center itself properly.

    I'm writing this up because it's probably something that should get tweaked in the smugmugBlack css file at some point. Obviously not super important, but hopefully one of those things that can get cleaned up to keep things looking polished.
    Was this in IE6 only or all supported browsers?
  • jfriendjfriend Scripting dude-volunteer Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited January 17, 2009
    Andy wrote:
    Was this in IE6 only or all supported browsers?
    I saw it in FF3. I believe it's just a CSS coding error that would occur in all browsers.
    --John
    HomepagePopular
    JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
    Always include a link to your site when posting a question
  • jfriendjfriend Scripting dude-volunteer Registered Users Posts: 8,097 Major grins
    edited January 19, 2009
    I have no idea how long ago I first reported this problem (it feels like 6 months ago), but it remains unfixed.

    If some unfortunate sole puts this line in their homepage slideshow declaration:

    splash: 'false',

    thinking that this is how you say you don't want a splash screen, then slideshow code will eat 100% of a CPU (on Windows Vista, I don't know about other flash platforms). It's really horrible. If you don't have multiple CPUs, it can cripple your ability to use the computer until you realize you have to close that site.

    Apparently, the slideshow code is not handling errors well and it goes into some sort of infinite loop when it gets an invalid URL for the splash screen. A little defensive coding with decent error handling should prevent this entirely.

    I've written about this a couple times before, but I'm writing about it again because I keep seeing users and viewers inflicted by it and it was so long ago that I first wrote about it, that I have no idea if it's actually going to be fixed or not and it's unlikely it's a particularly time consuming fix. I would think that the folks at Smugmug would be horrified that there are customer's sites out there inflicting serious CPU hogging and sullying the reputation of Smugmug and it's slideshow design. That's why I'm surprised it hasn't been prioritized high enough to get fixed.

    The latest victim I've run into is here, though hopefully he will fix his site as I've advised him.
    --John
    HomepagePopular
    JFriend's javascript customizationsSecrets for getting fast answers on Dgrin
    Always include a link to your site when posting a question
  • bullwinklebullwinkle Beginner grinner Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
    edited January 19, 2009
    Weird Firefox Issue
    I'm having a very weird intermittent issue with firefox this evening -- my CSS keeps dropping out; then it drops back in. I have CSS in two places -- the CSS field, plus I have some in the head field. What I really don't get is that at the exact same time it all drops out of Firefox, it's fine in IE and Chrome. Also it can happen on any page -- plus it can drop in or out when I do nothing more than reload a given page.

    The version of Firefox that I'm using is 3.0.5. I'm *not* logged in on Firefox (or IE) -- I'm using Chrome to make my changes.

    My site's at http://photos.nmstockphotos.com/

    Any help or explanation would be greatly appreciated -- thanks!
  • bullwinklebullwinkle Beginner grinner Registered Users Posts: 2 Beginner grinner
    edited January 19, 2009
    Me again, and sorry.
    bullwinkle wrote:
    I'm having a very weird intermittent issue with firefox this evening -- my CSS keeps dropping out; then it drops back in. I have CSS in two places -- the CSS field, plus I have some in the head field. What I really don't get is that at the exact same time it all drops out of Firefox, it's fine in IE and Chrome. Also it can happen on any page -- plus it can drop in or out when I do nothing more than reload a given page.

    The version of Firefox that I'm using is 3.0.5. I'm *not* logged in on Firefox (or IE) -- I'm using Chrome to make my changes.

    My site's at http://photos.nmstockphotos.com/

    Any help or explanation would be greatly appreciated -- thanks!

    I figured this out -- I was missing the closing style tag in the head section. It was really strange because what dropped out was the EXTERNAL styles -- but the problem was with the internal sheet. Ugh. Sorry!
  • thayes01thayes01 Ted Hayes Photography Registered Users Posts: 17 Big grins
    edited January 21, 2009
    HTML 'page Jump' doesn't work with Journal gallery style
    Regarding HTML-only web page, page jump code (e.g. ) will not work when gallery style is set to "Journal." Work around: Set gallery style to "SmugMug."
  • Lori_BLori_B Big grins Registered Users Posts: 75 Big grins
    edited January 23, 2009
    Arrange Photos not working properly
    Hi, I'm working on a gallery in which I want all my pics to be sorted by filename, and then afterward I switch to manual sorting to move a few things around (4 videos, whose filenames don't fit the chronological order). Normally this works. However today, whenever I switch to manual sort, it "unarranges" the sort by filename, and if I tell it to sort by filename in the Arrange Photos section (rather than Customize Gallery) it does not arrange them correctly. My images start at IMG_32xx, but it starts the gallery at IMG_33xx and up, and puts all the 3200's at the end.

    Finally I decided to go back to Customize Gallery, set them to Arrange by Filename, and then go into the gallery tools and do Arrange by Number. Moved my videos around, and thought I'd finally found a loophole to the bug -- until I hit Save and nothing happened. Then I realized I had about 20 "javascript:void" tabs that opened in my browser window. And I still have an unarranged gallery. Help!

    One other thing I noticed, which makes me think it's a bug in the Arrange thing, is that the button in the arrange area only ever says "unselect all" but does not switch to "select all" when 0 images are selected. I seem to remember it used to say "select all".

    Gallery:
    http://loribrueseke.smugmug.com/gallery/7164708_WDaWr/1/459856729_VKwhs#459856729_VKwhs

    Browser: FF 3.0.5
    OS: Win XP Pro

    Recent changes to my site (shouldn't be related but ya never know): Changed the gallery from which my homepage slideshow draws its images, changed the size of my banner.

    I'll be afk for an hour or so but will be back soon. Thanks in advance!
  • AllenAllen "tweak 'til it squeaks" St. Louis, MoRegistered Users Posts: 9,940 Major grins
    edited January 23, 2009
    Lori_B wrote:
    ...
    You need to turn off the auto gallery sort.

    Under customize gallery set the arrange to none and ascending. Then under
    tools > many photos > Arrange > click Sort. This is a one shot sort any way
    you want it. Then you will be able to move individual photos around.
    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website index | My Blog
  • Lori_BLori_B Big grins Registered Users Posts: 75 Big grins
    edited January 23, 2009
    Ok it's working now. But that is what I was doing before...
    Still getting the javascript:void tab popping up.
This discussion has been closed.