Options

Get ready to sell stock photos

Comments

• Options
    beetle8beetle8 Registered Users Posts: 677 Major grins
    edited May 14, 2008
    again I'm no expert
  • Options
    Matthew SavilleMatthew Saville Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 3,352 Major grins
    edited May 14, 2008
    Itsme wrote:
    I have been 90% in stock since 1974 and license more than 4000 images a year for no less than $175 for one time use. I do not do web use for images. My highest sale was for $12,000. I do not sell $1. I am with over 20 major stock agencies and only sell rights managed images and do not waste my time selling photos for a dollar and think anyone that does really needs to study Business 101. You are being ripped off big-time... It's only 9:30 am todays intake on my end is already $3614.00 from sales on my site and 4 other agents that do provide online stats. I do a high 6 figure net income and am always looking for more outlets to sell. I have 2 full time employees and when not shooting stock I am shooting for corporations around the world. I have over 200,000(unique-not 1000 of the same shot :-) sellable images on file and adding more every day.

eyedo
    So, Itsme, you must be hoping that Smugmug will offer rights-managed stock sales, instead of, OR in addition to, royalty-free stock sales.

Shooting mostly just landscapes and nature, I definitely don't see myself ever making as much money at stock as you do, even if I had 200,000 decent images online. BUT, I wonder if the world of rights-managed stock might be at least a little nicer to us landscape photographers than royalty-free stock? If so, and if smugmug is taking so long BECAUSE they are going to include rights management, then maybe I will be able to put some traffic back into my nature galleries. Haven't made a dime off any of it in years, it seems...

=Matt=
    My first thought is always of light.” – Galen Rowell
    My SmugMug PortfolioMy Astro-Landscape Photo BlogDgrin Weddings Forum
  • Options