Andy's Un-Official Unsolicited Mac Advice Thread

1457910153

Comments

  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited September 12, 2005
    DavidTO wrote:

    Hold down cmd-ctl-d and pass your mouse over the word Appearance, while holding down the three buttons. You can move your mouse and the window will update!


    this is so cool!
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited September 12, 2005
    wxwax wrote:
    Do Apple online sales count as pr0n?

    Just asking, because everytime someone buys one they have little orgasms all over the place.

    jealous, sid? FLIPA.gif
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited September 12, 2005
    i just had a ....
    widget-gasm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    lol3.gif
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited September 14, 2005
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited September 14, 2005
    DavidTO wrote:
    Beware of the copycat.

    why not? the pc world has been copying the mac since forever lol3.gif
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited September 14, 2005
    andy wrote:
    why not? the pc world has been copying the mac since forever lol3.gif


    Of course, Apple isn't innocent, either.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited September 14, 2005
    andy wrote:
    why not? the pc world has been copying the mac since forever lol3.gif


    I think the first line is hilarious.
    Microsoft wrote:
    Have you ever wondered how new technologies get developed in Microsoft?

    No, I don't wonder, I know---they steal them from Apple!
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • gusgus Major grins the wastelandRegistered Users Posts: 16,209 Major grins
    edited September 14, 2005
    andy wrote:
    why not? the pc world has been copying the mac since forever lol3.gif
    Was'nt Amiga running windows before man started walking upright ? I remember my old 1000 having windows about '91 or '92 headscratch.gif
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited September 14, 2005
    Humungus wrote:
    Was'nt Amiga running windows before man started walking upright ? I remember my old 1000 having windows about '91 or '92 headscratch.gif

    The first Macintosh was released in 1984.

    More info on the ad (advert, Gus) here.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • ziggy53ziggy53 Still learnin'still lovin Illinois cornfieldSuper Moderators Posts: 22,893 moderator
    edited September 14, 2005
    Humungus wrote:
    Was'nt Amiga running windows before man started walking upright ? I remember my old 1000 having windows about '91 or '92 headscratch.gif
    The Amiga 1000 series could run a pre-emptive, multitasking, windowed OS from floppies. They also had a very nice and inexpensive video display and system called HAM (Hold And Modify) that used minimal RAM.

    A little company called, "Electronic Arts" got considerable attention writing graphic and paint software for the Amiga. (After selling a bizillion games for Apple, Atari and Commodore computers, of course.)

    Amigas are still collected by an almost rabid group of technogeeks and compu-wizards for their unique traits and qualities. (Quit looking at me that way.)

    Rant off,

    ziggy53
    ziggy53
    Moderator of the Cameras and Accessories forums
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited September 17, 2005
    DavidTO wrote:
    Exposé.

    A great way to compare images in PS. F10, baby.


    I just realized what a fantastic tip this is that I gave. Here's the real gold:

    Say you're working on a shot. You've got the original open, another version you worked up, and now you're in LAB working up curves on the third version. You want to compare this new version to the others without committing to the curves? NO PROBLEM! Just use expose. The curves dialog disapears, along with all the palettes. All you're left with is the three images you want to compare.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited September 17, 2005
    DavidTO wrote:
    I just realized what a fantastic tip this is that I gave. Here's the real gold:

    Say you're working on a shot. You've got the original open, another version you worked up, and now you're in LAB working up curves on the third version. You want to compare this new version to the others without committing to the curves? NO PROBLEM! Just use expose. The curves dialog disapears, along with all the palettes. All you're left with is the three images you want to compare.

    details - please - i'm still a macn00b
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited September 17, 2005
    andy wrote:
    details - please - i'm still a macn00b

    Unless you've changed your prefs, F10 will, by default, hide everything but the windows in the active application, which it will tile.

    In PS the palettes and dialog boxes are NOT windows. Hence they do not show up Exposé.

    This means that if you have multiple versions of the same image open, and you happen to be doing something like working on the curves of one, and you want to compare it to the other without actually clicking OK and applying the curves first, you can just hit F10, and all open windows in PS will tile--hopefully including the one that you want to compare to.

    It goes from this:

    36411853-M.jpg

    to this:

    36411892-M.jpg

    And you don't have to click OK to get the dialog box out of the way!

    Hit F10 again, you're right back where you started, working on your curves, but now you're smarter, because you've had the chance to compare it to your other image.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited September 17, 2005
    DavidTO wrote:
    Hit F10 again, you're right back where you started, working on your curves, but now you're smarter, because you've had the chance to compare it to your other image.


    thanks david, excellent examples! apple just rawks man.
  • patch29patch29 C|34N3R Atlanta, GARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 2,928 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2005
    DavidTO wrote:
    Yes, FCP has a Rotate filter.

    Effects>Video Filters>Perspective>Rotate

    I also read somewhere that QT 7 can do this, in the player, I think. Don't know, I looked and couldn't figure it out.


    I finally made it home to my computer. I tried FCP, but it was not working well. It rotated, but stretched the image. So I decided to see what Canon offered in their software, of course they have a movie edit tool and it easily rotates and exports to QT. Mission accomplished. clap.gif
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2005
    patch29 wrote:
    I finally made it home to my computer.

    who are you again headscratch.gif
  • patch29patch29 C|34N3R Atlanta, GARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 2,928 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2005
    andy wrote:
    who are you again headscratch.gif

    blbl.gif
  • LOVEphotosLOVEphotos Major grins Registered Users Posts: 107 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2005
    Widgets
    andy wrote:

    Thanks for the link!

    I just upgraded to Tiger ... & diggin' the widgets clap.gif

    Sooo many to choose from ... this will keep me busy for the next week, maybe next month, who knows maybe a couple of months :D

    Where do I start? ... so many choices ... so little time 1drink.gif
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2005
    LOVEphotos wrote:
    Thanks for the link!

    I just upgraded to Tiger ... & diggin' the widgets clap.gif

    Sooo many to choose from ... this will keep me busy for the next week, maybe next month, who knows maybe a couple of months :D

    Where do I start? ... so many choices ... so little time 1drink.gif

    try not to gloat too much, it makes waxilocious get all hot n bothered lol3.gif
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited September 18, 2005
    andy wrote:
    try not to gloat too much, it makes waxilocious get all hot n bothered lol3.gif


    Widget, widget, widget.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • LOVEphotosLOVEphotos Major grins Registered Users Posts: 107 Major grins
    edited September 19, 2005
    Mo' Widgets
    DavidTO wrote:
    Widget, widget, widget.

    Ha Ha ... i luv the sticky note (Get more widgets) iloveyou.gifthumb.gif
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited September 20, 2005
    LOVEphotos wrote:
    Ha Ha ... i luv the sticky note (Get more widgets) iloveyou.gifthumb.gif


    I actually didn't open all my widgets--it was way too much.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited September 21, 2005
    patch29 wrote:
    Now that you have two macs, have you looked at getting a dot mac account?[/URL]

    i've been on .mac since day one with my mac. and they just upgraded .mac, they keep enhancing it.. i use the backup 3.0 feature, it's wonderful. backups are done automatically, each night, without fail (incremental backups) to a location of my choosing (i send my backups to an ext hd). you choose what you want to backup, once, and then boom, it's done.
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited September 25, 2005
    There are certain things that we know about Andy:

    1) He loves food.

    2) He likes instant gratification.

    3) And a distant third, he likes to share his photography with the rest of us

    ;)

    Now this means that at times he'll find himself in Starbucks madly quaffing his Venti Triple Mocha Latte (extra foam), and realize he must upload his latest images of lunch NOW.

    So he hops onto his laptop, logs onto his T-Mobile Hot Spot account and opens his computer to all kinds of security issues.

    T-Mobile has tried to make this more secure by using 802.1x, but they don't directly support OS X.

    Here's the link that saves Andy's butt. 802.1x,T-Mobile and Andy on his so-new-he doesn't-have-it-yet Powerbook all nice and compatible.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkRegistered Users Posts: 50,154 Major grins
    edited September 25, 2005
    wrong drink
    DavidTO wrote:

    Now this means that at times he'll find himself in Starbucks madly quaffing his Venti Triple Mocha Latte (extra foam)

    in hot summertime: iced quad grande latte
    rest of year: five-shot grande no-foam latte (first a.m.). triple grande no foam latte (subsequent drinks during the day).

    thanks for the tips david!
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited September 25, 2005
    andy wrote:
    in hot summertime: iced quad grande latte
    rest of year: five-shot grande no-foam latte (first a.m.). triple grande no foam latte (subsequent drinks during the day).

    thanks for the tips david!


    Well, it sounded good. Me, I like a small redeye. Drip with an add shot.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited September 25, 2005
    Just stumbled on this 800k PDF that is chock-full o' Mac tips from basic (check your camera battery before travel) to advanced (use System>Library>Core Services>Menu Extras>Eject.menu to remove a stuck disk).

    It's updated monthly, and you can sign up for notification here.

    This issue is 16 pages long, and is chock-full. Really.


    EDIT: I should note that it includes Photoshop hints that aren't Mac specific, so all you Windows folk may benefit from a read, too.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 19,160 Major grins
    edited September 25, 2005
    Here's one that's new to me, from the July newsletter:

    cmd-i in the finder will get info on any item (I knew this).

    What's new is add an option to it (cmd-opt-i) and you'll open an inspector, that will update as you click through items.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • lynnesitelynnesite Horses of Courses near Corona, CARegistered Users Posts: 747 Major grins
    edited September 25, 2005
    andy wrote:
    in hot summertime: iced quad grande latte
    rest of year: five-shot grande no-foam latte (first a.m.). triple grande no foam latte (subsequent drinks during the day).

    thanks for the tips david!

    How do you handle that kind of "load" without getting the shakes? Do you have withdrawal on the weekend? eek7.gif I have to really watch it on the caffeine load before event shoots particularly. Guess I'm just a lightweight, yet caffeine IS my drug o' choice.
  • patch29patch29 C|34N3R Atlanta, GARegistered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 2,928 Major grins
    edited September 25, 2005
    DavidTO wrote:
    What's new is add an option to it (cmd-opt-i) and you'll open an inspector, that will update as you click through items.


    Cool. thumb.gif
Sign In or Register to comment.