Monthly Assignment #1: Bottles

Comments

• evorywareevoryware Registered Users Posts: 1,330 Major grins
    edited September 12, 2007
    Well this type of shooting has been a learning experience. I had been working on this for a while, but then this thread really pushed me when I noticed it last week. Not perfect, but I learned a lot that I could definitely bring over to other types of shooting. I have some white background too, but I'll post the black first. The beer bottle and glass I took advice from these forums and did a warm set up, then pulled my glass and beer out the freezer in a quick switch.

First the setup: Black fabric, reflectors (one DIY and one Impact), acrylic from picture frame on top of black fabric. black frame to keep flash from hitting background, black binder handheld to keep flash from lighting the scratches in the acrylic. 430 triggered by 580. Using lamps with 60 w and 150 w bulbs to "try" and get some modeling light.
    194758791-M.jpg

194758973-S.jpg

194759060-S.jpg

I needed something to keep the flowers from falling, a seasoned salt bottle
    194758875-S.jpg

194758709-S.jpg

next 4 shots ISO 100, f8.0, 1/200
    194768339-L.jpg

194768485-L.jpg

194768147-L.jpg

194768097-L.jpg

the white setup (actually shot these first):
    Impact reflector as background, 480 set to full power. Did this to try and match a target ad (different floral arrangement, but pretty close on the lighting. Need to get a little less light on the stems but the light on the flowers matched the ad. I probably shouldn't scan the ad though and post here.
    194769316-S.jpg

ISO 800, F7.1, 1/15

194769550-L.jpg

Now I'll be going back to the white background to shoot some more pics.

C&C welcome
    Canon 40D : Canon 400D : Canon Elan 7NE : Canon 580EX : 2 x Canon 430EX : Canon 24-70 f2.8L : Canon 70-200mm f/2.8L USM : Canon 28-135mm f/3.5 IS : 18-55mm f/3.5 : 4GB Sandisk Extreme III : 2GB Sandisk Extreme III : 2 x 1GB Sandisk Ultra II : Sekonik L358