Warning - Sports related Rant -

1235»

Comments

• Options
    LUCKYSHOTLUCKYSHOT Registered Users Posts: 120 Major grins
    edited April 18, 2008
    rwells wrote:
    This is definitely a RANT!!!

I think I’m going to stop training people to take money from me.

I’ve been shooting HS sports for 2007 & 2008 with a national company that pays me an event fee. I like that; I’m tired of shooting spec. (Although all my rodeo work is spec)

Anyway, their budget got tight nearing the end of the season and they cut several schools a couple of months early. Mine was one of them. One of the main criteria was how many pictures were being sold from that school. Nothing new here, life goes on.

Here’s the rub:
    Come to find out, according to the AD, the local “dads” pictures were getting good enough that the other parents were opting to just download their “free” pictures instead of “paying” for ours. It was noted that our pics were of a higher quality, but the “free” pics were good enough for the price. Still, nothing new here, happens all the time.

But, I’ve been helping, training these guys if you will, all season. The school is located in an affluent part of the metroplex, so the dads have a good bit of play money. The last softball game I shot, there were 5 white lenses there, mine was one. These guys are showing up with 40D’s, 1DMkII’s, D300’s, etc. One dad at the last game even had a Canon 300mm f/2.8 on his 40D. Yep, camera on his new monopod, mounted from the camera base. That huge lens dangling off the front totally unsupported. eek7.gif

The point is:
    These guys have the equipment and the same field access that I have, they just didn’t have the knowledge to use it right. Unfortunately, I provided a lot of that knowledge for them, enough over the season for them to start producing half-way decent pictures.