Buying a Camera? How To Not Get Ripped Off.

1234568»

Comments

• jbradstrjbradstr Registered Users Posts: 1 Beginner grinner
    edited October 30, 2011
    I am new to photography and appreciate your tips on getting a good deal. Thanks.
  • ThatCanonGuyThatCanonGuy Registered Users Posts: 1,778 Major grins
    edited October 30, 2011
    jbradstr wrote: »
    I am new to photography and appreciate your tips on getting a good deal. Thanks.

What product are you looking for? Do you mind buying used gear? How about refurbished?
  • cmasoncmason Registered Users Posts: 2,506 Major grins
    edited October 30, 2011
    Cameras are neither rare nor poorly distributed. Therefore, pricing is extremely consistent from one vendor to another. Given the fairly high expense of most DSLR systems, you should focus on the reputation of the vendor vs the price. A price that is significantly lower than other vendors should be seen as a warning, not an opportunity.

"Getting a deal" is synonymous with getting ripped off. Check the major vendors, (B&H, Adorama, Amazon, etc) and figure your 'normal' price from there. Prices much higher AND much lower are likely rip-offs, either way.

Buy from the vendor that offers the return, warranty and service flexibility that you desire.
  • PhotogbikerPhotogbiker Registered Users Posts: 351 Major grins
    edited December 10, 2011
    Trusted vendors