Options

Option to disable the iphone 'backdoor'?

Comments

• Options
    stuartbstuartb Registered Users Posts: 104 Major grins
    edited March 28, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    Unlisted doesn't break navigation at all. And it won't show up on the iPhone.

I think he means it breaks navigation because you have to give people unique urls to unlisted galleries or add them to sharegroups to see them.

Andy - can I just say 'thanks for dealing with this'. Its only now that I have a vested interest in the development of a thread that I appreciate your efforts! Does flattery still work?
  • Options
    DrDavidDrDavid Registered Users Posts: 1,292 Major grins
    edited March 28, 2008
    I've been reading this thread, and I have to say that if people on here are managing their security by just making the links obscure, (i.e. CSS to hide something), that's just plain silly. I work in IT for a living, and if I did security through obscurity, I wouldn't have a job!

Andy's right. Make it unlisted. That's what I do. My About Me page? Unlisted and linked from the nav bar. Doesn't show up on /iphone. Lots of galleries where I take photos for fun/friends and don't really want it to showcase my skills? Unlisted. Easy to do. Fixes your issues, and if you're already hading out URL's, handing out a different one isn't the end of the world. Otherwise, consider what I do.. I create sharegroups and make the sharegroup into a vanity URL. Easy to use, easy to remember, powerful new tool! :)

David
  • Options
    edited March 28, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    Thx Christine :)

I have no idea - and I don't want to distract our Sorcerers from improving the Cart, working on coupons, packages, etc.
    Now, that's not fair Andy! You're teasing her AND me! I *so* want a new cart/coupons/packages/analytics, etc.. Personally, you could take back the slideshow for those improvements instead :) -- OH, and did I mention metallic paper?

David
  • Options
    edited March 28, 2008