Options

Option to disable the iphone 'backdoor'?

Comments

• Options
    stuartbstuartb Registered Users Posts: 104 Major grins
    edited April 4, 2008
    OK I promise . . second last post on this from me . .
    Andy wrote:
    . .for you as a Pro too.

But thats the point I fear you missing Andy. No-one would disagree with you that this is 'a good thing' for folks wanting exposure . . but I am NOT a professional photographer. My needs are different. I want to turn this 'exposure' off. I am an Architect who ISNT trying to sell images. I have a few select people I want to give my public gallery urls too. I am more than happy with the relative anonanimity and control that SmugIslands and the CSS tools give me, and very happy with the theoretical 'risk' of tech-minded people knowing how to circumvent these controls but I am NOT happy that 10million iphones can see an iphone version of my public galleries with NO control on my part, and NO ability for me to opt out. It seems totally at odds with the level of control that the regular Smugmug pages are sold with.

'Security' is relative. Do you leave your prized photographic equipment : -
    a - in a bank vault (think passworded and unlisted)
    b - in the trunk of your locked car (think public galleries with Smugisland CSS controls to hide certain categories)
    c - on the back seat of your unlocked car at rock concert with 10 million people at it (think iphone pages)

My money is on 'b'.
    Allen wrote:
    being an internal link, can a redirect be set up so it goes to your normal homepage?

I reckon an optional redirect would take a whole 3 seconds . . (or maybe 2 seconds if your in a hurry) to implement. You could even have a control panel button for it. Thats whats so frustrating . . we have reached the obvious conclusion here that this is clearly a political or business issue (in favour of Smugmug) and not a technical one. Power and Pro users deserve better.
  • Options