How to Post a Pic on dgrin

123468

Comments

  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkPosts: 50,153Registered Users Major grins
    edited February 23, 2008
    I Simonius wrote:
    OK sorry about this but I haven't got time ( today ) to read the whole thread: I have never been able to get the 'insert image ' thingy to work but Im a gonna have a go here and see if I can';t finally grok it
    here we go...

    copying the URLs directly from what shows in the browser window

    here is a pic i the gallery:4384146_fvmDQ#257441963
    - here's the link itself: http://Digital-Finger.smugmug.com/gallery/4384146_fvmDQ#257441963

    here is a pic in lightbox:4384146_fvmDQ#257441963_a7NpX-A-LB
    -here's the link itself : http://Digital-Finger.smugmug.com/gallery/4384146_fvmDQ#257441963_a7NpX-A-LB

    well there's a surprise - it didnt work

    So quite clearly what I always try to do just doesn't work. (why can't life be simple like me?)

    SO any instructions apart from "read the thread"? (ok ok just say 'read the thread' then - whatever:rutt)

    Please grab the links from the "share" button. Very easy that way thumb.gif
    http://www.smugmug.com/help/picture-sharing

    VBulletin Forum code examples: (IGNORE THE *, they are only there so you can see the code)

    [img*]http://www.smugmug.com/photos/257858359_ArAZw-Ti.jpg[*/img]

    [img*]http://www.smugmug.com/photos/257858359_ArAZw-Th.jpg[*/img]

    [img*]http://www.smugmug.com/photos/257858359_ArAZw-S.jpg[*/img]

    [img*]http://www.smugmug.com/photos/257858359_ArAZw-M.jpg[*/img]

    [img*]http://www.smugmug.com/photos/257858359_ArAZw-L.jpg[*/img]

    [img*]http://www.smugmug.com/photos/257858359_ArAZw-XL.jpg[*/img]

    [img*]http://www.smugmug.com/photos/257858359_ArAZw-X2.jpg[*/img]

    [img*]http://www.smugmug.com/photos/257858359_ArAZw-X3.jpg[*/img]


    257858359_ArAZw-Ti.jpg

    257858359_ArAZw-Th.jpg

    257858359_ArAZw-S.jpg


    257858359_ArAZw-M.jpg

    257858359_ArAZw-L.jpg

    257858359_ArAZw-XL.jpg

    257858359_ArAZw-X2.jpg

    257858359_ArAZw-X3.jpg
  • I SimoniusI Simonius WeatherSealedPhotographer Posts: 1,034Registered Users Major grins
    edited February 23, 2008
    I think I just got it from reading the tuts and help on Digital-monochrome etc, what I have to do on a mac is choose the lightbox version then right click and choose 'copy image address'

    257445999_ZxpeW-L.jpg

    ta raaa!:Dwings.gif
    Veni-Vidi-Snappii
    ...pics..
  • I SimoniusI Simonius WeatherSealedPhotographer Posts: 1,034Registered Users Major grins
    edited February 23, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    Please grab the links from the "share" button. Very easy that way thumb.gif
    http://www.smugmug.com/help/picture-sharing


    gotcha - thanks

    neat pic for exposure expertise btwmwink.gif
    Veni-Vidi-Snappii
    ...pics..
  • I SimoniusI Simonius WeatherSealedPhotographer Posts: 1,034Registered Users Major grins
    edited February 23, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    Please grab the links from the "share" button. Very easy that way thumb.gif
    http://www.smugmug.com/help/picture-sharing

    VB

    just couldn't find that 'Share' button anywhere - finally sussed I had easy sharing turned off in the gallery control panelrolleyes1.gif
    Veni-Vidi-Snappii
    ...pics..
  • zack75144zack75144 Major grins Posts: 261Registered Users Major grins
    edited March 9, 2008
    I thought I knew what I was doing but screwed up my first post.

    test photo embed.....
    263833790_goNtN-XL.jpg
    Zack www.zackjonesphotography.net
    EOS 7D, Zeiss 50mm f/1.4, EF 24-70mm f/2.8L, EF 135mm f/2L, EF 200mm f/2.8L II, EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5 USM, EF 1.4 Ext II, 430EX, ST-E2, Tamrac Velocity 10X & Expeditioner 7 Bags.
  • Slinky0390Slinky0390 Major grins Posts: 236Registered Users Major grins
    edited March 11, 2008
    Im having problems linking up EXIF, when I mouse over the image, only the thumbs up or down shows up. Any Ideas? Photo Info is also checked off as yes
    Canon eos 30d; EF 17-40 f/4.0L; EF 24-85mm f/3.5; EF 50mm f/1.4; EF 70-200mm f/4.0L; Unicorns of various horn lenghts
    http://slinky0390.smugmug.com
  • Slinky0390Slinky0390 Major grins Posts: 236Registered Users Major grins
    edited March 11, 2008
    264800803_eJYu2-XL.jpg

    Nevermind, Got it thumb.gif
    Canon eos 30d; EF 17-40 f/4.0L; EF 24-85mm f/3.5; EF 50mm f/1.4; EF 70-200mm f/4.0L; Unicorns of various horn lenghts
    http://slinky0390.smugmug.com
  • GOLDENORFEGOLDENORFE Super Moderator Posts: 4,705Super Moderators moderator
    edited March 21, 2008
    trying to link from flickr
    i have followed all threads on using url of image but keep getting red cross where photo should be.
    see if this photo shows.
    any help appreciated. phil.2347672329_15e9921403.jpg
  • ivarivar I'd be happy with a cookie Posts: 8,395Registered Users Major grins
    edited March 21, 2008
    GOLDENORFE wrote:
    i have followed all threads on using url of image but keep getting red cross where photo should be.
    see if this photo shows.
    any help appreciated. phil.2347672329_15e9921403.jpg
    You had one image tag too many, otherwise, you did fine thumb.gif
  • GOLDENORFEGOLDENORFE Super Moderator Posts: 4,705Super Moderators moderator
    edited March 21, 2008
    ivar wrote:
    You had one image tag too many, otherwise, you did fine thumb.gif


    how did you do that? what did you do/remove? phil
  • ivarivar I'd be happy with a cookie Posts: 8,395Registered Users Major grins
    edited March 21, 2008
    GOLDENORFE wrote:
    how did you do that? what did you do/remove? phil
    You had one too manythumb.gif
  • GOLDENORFEGOLDENORFE Super Moderator Posts: 4,705Super Moderators moderator
    edited March 21, 2008
  • ivarivar I'd be happy with a cookie Posts: 8,395Registered Users Major grins
    edited March 21, 2008
    GOLDENORFE wrote:
    2346367546_ae8c008a03.jpg
    That worked just fine thumb.gif
  • LilyJackLilyJack Big grins Posts: 25Registered Users Big grins
    edited May 13, 2008
    Is this a correct way to link to photo?
    ivar wrote:
    You had one image tag too many, otherwise, you did fine thumb.gif

    Hi there,

    I want to ask a question about the sharpness of the photos I'm taking with my new D300. To do that, I need to give fellow dgrinners access to the original file size, full resolution photo. (Right?) I don't have SmugMug yet but I have the two photos on flickr. Is this the way to link to it so others can view it at 100% and analyze sharpness and focus points?

    2489506800_9e4562fdd3_b.jpg

    2488686233_6f72b9487b_b.jpg

    Thanks for your help in advance.
    ~K
  • tleetlee Perma Grin Posts: 1,090Registered Users Major grins
    edited May 28, 2008
    Hello. I have been having some issues with posting images. I have done it many times in the past, with no problems at all. However, within the last month, I have posted images that do not "show" up for others to view. I have checked the gallery I copied the images' urls from, and all seems to be correctly set up. I use one dedicated gallery for images I post, so that I do not change or forget to change any settings. Also, I have tried to add new images to my slide show gallery, and all you see in the slide show itself (located on the home page), is a blank space. I do not know if this is related to the posting problem or not, but, it started happening at the same time.headscratch.gif

    Thanks for taking the time to help.

    ---Tracey

    T :D

    www.studioTphotos.com

    "Each day comes bearing its own gifts. Untie the ribbons."
    ----Ruth Ann Schubacker
  • dlplumerdlplumer Major grins Posts: 8,043Registered Users Major grins
    edited July 7, 2008
    Question
    I upload my photos from my .mac Gallery to share on Dgrin, but I am unable to change the size from large to small or medium etc. Is there any way to share a smaller size of my photos? headscratch.gif

    Thanks :D
  • RichardRichard Mildly bemused Madrid, SpainPosts: 18,987Administrators, Vanilla Admin moderator
    edited July 7, 2008
    dlplumer wrote:
    I upload my photos from my .mac Gallery to share on Dgrin, but I am unable to change the size from large to small or medium etc. Is there any way to share a smaller size of my photos? headscratch.gif

    Thanks :D

    Dgrin works with the size of the image you supply. So you would need to resize the images before you attach them. If you are linking, resizing in the host gallery is another possibility. But Dgrin itself does not have resizing functions.
  • dlplumerdlplumer Major grins Posts: 8,043Registered Users Major grins
    edited July 7, 2008
    Thanks Richard. If I used Smug Mug as my Gallery site, I would be able to choose a size, yes? And if so, how would I get my photos from Aperture to Smug Mug?
  • RichardRichard Mildly bemused Madrid, SpainPosts: 18,987Administrators, Vanilla Admin moderator
    edited July 7, 2008
    dlplumer wrote:
    Thanks Richard. If I used Smug Mug as my Gallery site, I would be able to choose a size, yes? And if so, how would I get my photos from Aperture to Smug Mug?

    Yes, SmugMug handles resizing automatically. You would simply choose the size you want (typically, large) when you link the pic to Dgrin. I don't use Aperture, but I assume that it has a function that lets you save a JPG version of the converted pic on your computer. There are a number of tools on the SmugMug Web page that you can use for uploading the JPG.
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CAPosts: 19,160Registered Users, Retired Mod Major grins
    edited July 7, 2008
    dlplumer wrote:
    Thanks Richard. If I used Smug Mug as my Gallery site, I would be able to choose a size, yes? And if so, how would I get my photos from Aperture to Smug Mug?


    You could try this.
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • dlplumerdlplumer Major grins Posts: 8,043Registered Users Major grins
    edited July 7, 2008
    Richard wrote:
    Yes, SmugMug handles resizing automatically. You would simply choose the size you want (typically, large) when you link the pic to Dgrin. I don't use Aperture, but I assume that it has a function that lets you save a JPG version of the converted pic on your computer. There are a number of tools on the SmugMug Web page that you can use for uploading the JPG.

    Great! I thought there was an Aperture plug in for uploading to Smug Mug, but if there is not, you are saying that I would export the photos I want to upload, onto my desktop, and then batch upload them into Smug Mug?
  • RichardRichard Mildly bemused Madrid, SpainPosts: 18,987Administrators, Vanilla Admin moderator
    edited July 7, 2008
    dlplumer wrote:
    Great! I thought there was an Aperture plug in for uploading to Smug Mug, but if there is not, you are saying that I would export the photos I want to upload, onto my desktop, and then batch upload them into Smug Mug?

    See previous post by David.
  • dlplumerdlplumer Major grins Posts: 8,043Registered Users Major grins
    edited July 7, 2008
    DavidTO wrote:
    You could try this.

    Thanks David. I saw some posting regarding this. Bottom line question for me is: Does it work and have they fixed the bugs. I am a Mac user (Leopard 10.latest) and I would really like to use Smug Mug. Do you know if this is working for Mac users or is it very buggy>

    Thanks :D
  • dlplumerdlplumer Major grins Posts: 8,043Registered Users Major grins
    edited July 8, 2008
    Thanks Richard and David. I have joined the Smug Mug family.wings.gif
  • wellmanwellman Swimming for Them Posts: 961Registered Users Major grins
    edited July 12, 2008
    How do I embed Shizam's flash slideshow into a DGrin post? I'm not able to get the HTML I use for blogs to quite work. Thanks. :D
  • AndyAndy Bicameral New YorkPosts: 50,153Registered Users Major grins
    edited July 12, 2008
    wellman wrote:
    How do I embed Shizam's flash slideshow into a DGrin post? I'm not able to get the HTML I use for blogs to quite work. Thanks. :D
    greg, all the instructions for embedding are here:

    http://wiki.smugmug.com/display/SmugMug/Flash+Slideshow
  • wellmanwellman Swimming for Them Posts: 961Registered Users Major grins
    edited July 12, 2008
    Andy wrote:
    greg, all the instructions for embedding are here:

    http://wiki.smugmug.com/display/SmugMug/Flash+Slideshow

    Yar, I've seen 'em. Since posting this, I've seen a post talking about DGrin not allowing embedded HTML. No biggie. Thanks.
  • DavidTODavidTO Mod Emeritus Thousand Oaks, CAPosts: 19,160Registered Users, Retired Mod Major grins
    edited July 12, 2008
    wellman wrote:
    Yar, I've seen 'em. Since posting this, I've seen a post talking about DGrin not allowing embedded HTML. No biggie. Thanks.


    Parts of dgrin does allow, others don't. I've lost track of which is which, but if' you're doing it right, you're just not in the right part of dgrin to embed. deal.gif
    Moderator Emeritus
    Dgrin FAQ | Me | Workshops
  • tleetlee Perma Grin Posts: 1,090Registered Users Major grins
    edited July 13, 2008
    tlee wrote:
    Hello. I have been having some issues with posting images. I have done it many times in the past, with no problems at all. However, within the last month, I have posted images that do not "show" up for others to view. I have checked the gallery I copied the images' urls from, and all seems to be correctly set up. I use one dedicated gallery for images I post, so that I do not change or forget to change any settings. Also, I have tried to add new images to my slide show gallery, and all you see in the slide show itself (located on the home page), is a blank space. I do not know if this is related to the posting problem or not, but, it started happening at the same time.headscratch.gif

    Thanks for taking the time to help.

    ---Tracey


    Nobody has answered my above question (unless I missed it somehow). Can anybody help?

    The posting issue has been resolved, I'm still having problems with the slide show.

    T :D

    www.studioTphotos.com

    "Each day comes bearing its own gifts. Untie the ribbons."
    ----Ruth Ann Schubacker
  • AllenAllen "tweak 'til it squeaks" St. Louis, MoPosts: 9,700Registered Users Major grins
    edited July 13, 2008
    tlee wrote:
    Nobody has answered my above question (unless I missed it somehow). Can anybody help?

    The posting issue has been resolved, I'm still having problems with the slide show.
    You are using the old no longer supported slideshow and none of the new photos
    will run in it since the security update. Switch to the new show here.

    Remove old slideshow code
    http://www.dgrin.com/showpost.php?p=777834&postcount=14
    Al - Just a volunteer here having fun
    My Website | My Blog
Sign In or Register to comment.