Andy wrote:
    Who are you again headscratch.gif

Oh yeah, this kid:

it was this [ ] big
  • Options
    DoctorItDoctorIt Administrators Posts: 11,951 moderator
    edited February 16, 2006
    JamesJWeg wrote:
    4WD is not a magic bullet, in fact, 4WD is awful on ice unless you have spikes. Learn to drive a 2WD on ice and snow and have fun.

Edit: Traction controlled 4WD would be another story, I was thinking of standard 4WD.
    Exactly. If you're sliding, Zac, it doesn't matter how many wheels you have power to, you're still sliding!

As James points out, the modern traction control systems are pretty darn amazing. This was one of the reasons that C230 I had was so good. Even though it was very light and quite powerful for that weight, it kept in line very well, even under the most slippy conditions. I actually felt safer in it than I do in my poorly weighted truck. Personally, I'm a well trained driver, and I like being able to steer the car a bit with the throttle if the need arises.
    Erik
    moderator of: The Flea Market [ guidelines ]

• Options
    bwgbwg Registered Users, Retired Mod Posts: 2,119 SmugMug Employee
    edited February 16, 2006
    DoctorIt wrote:
    Personally, I'm a well trained driver

did dad let you back the car out of the driveway raymond?
    Pedal faster
  • Options
    ian408ian408 Administrators Posts: 21,913 moderator
    edited February 16, 2006
    JamesJWeg wrote:
    4WD is not a magic bullet, in fact, 4WD is awful on ice unless you have spikes. Learn to drive a 2WD on ice and snow and have fun.

James.

Edit: Traction controlled 4WD would be another story, I was thinking of standard 4WD.

Come to California and watch the idiots drive in the snow lol3.gif

Doc, that SLK would be a fun car but what are you going to do when the
    pupITs come along?
    Moderator Journeys/Sports/Big Picture :: Need some help with dgrin?
  • Options
    SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
    edited February 16, 2006