Options

Car Talk Thread

Comments

• Options
    ChrisJChrisJ Registered Users Posts: 2,164 Major grins
    edited April 18, 2006
    Is this real?
    This was parked at a diner we stopped at on the way back from Vegas. I'm not a Cobra expert, but it looks real to me... anyone know for sure?

65128775-L.jpg

65128812-L.jpg

65128795-L.jpg

If you look closely at the right-hand side dash, it appears to be signed by Jay Leno and Carroll Shelby. I didn't notice this until I was reviewing these pics, or I would have gotten a closeup. The guy driving it certainly wasn't Leno, or I would have a heard a commotion somewhere.
    Chris
  • Options
    cletuscletus Registered Users Posts: 1,930 Major grins
    edited April 18, 2006
    ChrisJ wrote:
    This was parked at a diner we stopped at on the way back from Vegas. I'm not a Cobra expert, but it looks real to me... anyone know for sure?

65128795-S.jpg

If you look closely at the right-hand side dash, it appears to be signed by Jay Leno and Carroll Shelby. I didn't notice this until I was reviewing these pics, or I would have gotten a closeup. The guy driving it certainly wasn't Leno, or I would have a heard a commotion somewhere.

I had my father, who owns a kit 427 Cobra, look at your pics. He's 90% sure it's a kit. He says the roll hoop on the real Cobra did not have the through bolted rear brace. The rear brace was one piece up to where it met the main hoop. At the brace/hoop junction there was a coupling.
  • Options
    SystemSystem Registered Users Posts: 8,186 moderator
    edited April 19, 2006
    Uhg red BMW guy is backing off a little

65292483-M.jpg

I know you guys aren't a fan but I just can't stop going back to them. This one has 80kmi and he will trade for my 325ix. *sigh*
  • Options
    marlinspikemarlinspike Registered Users Posts: 2,095 Major grins
    edited April 19, 2006